vamos ya por bien camino
03.27.04 // 11:29 a.m.

I spoke to him late Thursday night after a brief IM conversation.

Me: I'm in your time zone
Him: I tried calling you today.
Me: Huh?
Him: Yeah, I was calling newly admitted students of color and your name was on the list, but someone had already called you.
Me: Aww... you should've called me.
Him: Hi, my name is Arshad, and I just wanted to congratulate you on your admission to the Harvard Graduate School of Education.
Me: Gee, thanks. Tell me, Arshad, how do you like Harvard?
Him: I hate it.
Me: I knew you were going to say that. I know you too well.
Him: I know.

After that, he called me and we talked for about an hour and half about stuff that wasn't inane and shitty. It was great and through the conversation about our plans for next year (will we both go to UCLA to enroll in PhD programs this fall?) I was reminded why I care about him so much and why he is one of my best friends.

The primary reason I went ahead and told him how I felt was because I had no doubt that our relationship would suffer because of it. I doubted that a little even after his response (which was really nice, I might add). After tonight though, I know we'll be okay. Our relationship is getting even stronger with a level of honesty, trust, and support that is really important to me right now. I know what he means when he says that he can't deal with anything more or less than this right now.

I fell asleep late Thursday night exhausted but extremely happy.

Oh yes, I forgot... he's the first person I've truly articulated my decision to. I think I've made it.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: great
Escuchando: mariachi vargas de tecalitlan, "cascabel"

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star