i'm being recruited
03.20.04 // 3:47 p.m.

I spent some of my Friday evening looking back at what I wrote in December. It was just a few months ago, but I was so sure of what I wanted to do then. UCLA's Higher Education and Organizational Change (HEOC) program was my clear first choice.

Now, I have three other enticing choices on the table each for a different reason. Michigan offers money, a change of pace, and the best ranked higher ed program in the nation. Harvard offers incredible prestige, and a change in location. Teachers College, Columbia, also offers Ivy League prestige and a chance to live in one of the most exciting cities in the world, New York.

What does UCLA offer? Familiarity, the degree I eventually want to earn from the program my interests fit best with, diverse faculty and student body, nice weather, possible funding (though I'd have to work as a TA or Grad Student Researcher), and the incredible opportunities I get by being an advisee of Prof. Sylvia H.

Current HEOC students kept asking me yesterday about my advisor and when I'd tell them Sylvia H, they'd admit that I was very lucky.

I'm not so sure what I want to do now. I've heard 254 congratulations (soy exagerada, ya s�); almost another 254 "what's your first choices?" and just as many "what you going to do? made your decision yet?"

NO! I haven't made my decision yet. I think I'll make it April 14th, the day before I need to send in my notice to UCLA and Michigan.

Comments: 2 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: torn
Escuchando: caf� tacuba vale callampa

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star