�amor al mexicano?
03.11.05 // 2:06 p.m.


I've said it before and I'll say it again: I don't like Mexican* guys.

Gasp!

I'm sure there are a number of questions and thoughts running through your head. What does Cindylu have against the men of her culture? Does she feel the same way about Chicanos? Does she only date white guys? Did she have a bad experience with a Mexican guy? Does that mean that I don't have a chance with her? Aw, man... Doesn't she know that Mexicans and Chicanos are great? Will her parents be disappointed? She certainly doesn't seem white-washed...

Okay, now that we've gotten all that out of the way, �c�lmate!

I explained to Oso that my "rule" is more a joke than anything else. It started out as something between my sister and I. For some reason, neither one of us really dates Mexican guys, and it's actually surprising if we are interested in a Mexican or are seeing a Mexican guy.

I wrote in another place:

My mother is convinced that I won't marry a Mexicano or Chicano. I think she even gave up hope for me marrying a Latino. She used to say that he would be white or Asian. I did grow up in Hacienda Heights where white and Asian boys are numerous. Now, she thinks that my suitor will be black, Indian, or perhaps Arab.

She's funny, but there is some truth to all of this. In high school, I liked the nerdy guys. The nerdy guys just happened to not be brown. I was in all honors classes with Asian and white dudes. So, I liked them.

In college, I made friends of all different ethnicities. The only guy my parents ever met that I dated was a white redhead. They didn't meet the lone Chicano or the black/white guy, or the Boricua.

My mom says I'm too smart for a Mexican man and that's why he won't like me. I don't know what it is about me that attracts any other guy except Mexicans. Maybe I'm too light skinned and smart mouthed.

---

Okay, a lot of that was written in jest. I'm not the type of person to make blanket statements. I know Mexican men value intelligent women and not all of them want their women subservient. I love Mexican men, I've had a lot of great experiences with the Mexicanos in my life. My father, grandfathers, uncles, brothers, and cousins are all men I love dearly. I've also had positive relationships with most of the Mexicanos and Chicanos in my life. You can even say that some of my best friends are Chicanos. (hehe...)

So, why don't I like Mexican guys?

Is it about liking men of another ethnicity more? Not at all. I'm attracted to people based on many different qualities. I'm all about diversity, even when it comes to dating.

My claim about not liking Mexicanos is just a joke. I really love Mexicanos and Chicanos. I just don't think they like me.

[*Note: When I say Mexican I mean Mexican nationals and guys who have roots in M�xico. So yeah, it includes Chicanos too.]

Comments: 23 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: silly
Escuchando: nada

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star