�tequila o t� de manzanilla?
11.10.02 // 11:02 p.m.

Forget midol, when Chicanas get menstrual cramps we either take a shot of tequila or t� de manzanilla to help us feel better. When my mom offered, I chose the second with some honey since I had been craving it especially with the rainy days.

I like to sit at the kitchen table by the sliding glass doors and stare out into the backyard and the rain falling. Mam� Toni does the same thing. In fact, her father used to sit with the door open admiring the rain. And when I would complain about the rain, my mom would tell me to stop it, because in the drought years we were happy for any precipitation we could get in Southern California. Now, I love the rain, even when the ends of my pants get wet because they're a little too long or I get caught without an umbrella. I don't mind the rain, well only if I just got my car washed.

I was realizing today when I had the house to myself and everyone was at Mass (I got out due to my illness...) that I've never gone this long without seeing Dominic since we me. It doesn't help either that we've barely talked/emailed/im-ed since then either. I knew I was going to miss him, but this is way harder than I expected. Eligio asked me earlier in the week if I wanted to be a chaperone on a trip with high school students to visit colleges in the Bay Area. I declined. I'd be with the kids all day and night anyway, and I know I wouldn't be able to see him even if I felt ready to. Oh yeah, being in the Bay would just be too weird without seeing Dominic or staying at his house. I guess that's why I've avoided visiting Vane too. She chastises me and tells me that my trips to the Bay don't revolve around him... but I can't help it. They have revolved around Dominic for the past year.

All right, I'm off to play video games with the brothers and a few of their friends that are spending the night since they don't have to go to school tomorrow.

Comments: 1 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: icky (still)
Escuchando: the boys playing video games

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star