mah jong, little sisters, hip hop and basketball
12.15.02 // 3:21 p.m.

About 3 pm yesterday, I get a call on my cell phone, but after seeing the person on caller ID I dropped my phone and didn't bother answering the call. It was La G�era? ew. A few minutes later I got the message. It turns out she did invite me to her holiday get together, but Pato didn't give me the message. Yeah. I think my roommates told her I was at my parents and no in LA. I didn't bother calling La G�era back. I had better plans for Saturday night anyway.

After greeting my aunt, uncle and cousins who just flew in from M�xico, I had Yo put some goop on me and add color to my pale face. Then, I headed out to Chris' for his graduation celebration. Chris and Lamont have the cutest little sister. She's almost two years old and lots of fun to play with. I played with her until she got grumpy and sleepy. Most of the people at Chris' house were family, but some our friends were there too. Most of the times the guys outnumber the women, and this was the case too. Once Cherisse left to work, I was the only girl there.

Chris and Lamont taught us how to play mah jong and then we talked about their favorite topics, music (hip hop to be more exact) and sports (basketball to be more exact). See, I know music, but with hip hop I'm still learning. Two years ago I would have little to contribute to a conversation on hip hop music and artists, but now I've learned a little. Still, these guys were talking about the new Common album which I have yet to pick up so I couldn't contribute anything.

When it comes to sports, they talk about pro basketball which is where my sports knowledge falls short. I was able to hold my own on the conversation about the Heisman Trophy, but you can only talk so much about college football and bowl games. Oh well. I didn't get home until past 3 am. I love those guys, and really can't wait for the New York trip 'cause I'll be spending about a week with those [numerous] cats.

These guys are few of the friends I have that don't go to UCLA, and that makes them so much more valuable to me, especially in the last few months. Yo and I were talking about them this morning (she went out instead of going to Chris'). I thought she would have been bored especially with hip hop and basketball, but she said she would have still liked it 'cause she learns so much. We don't just talk about that stuff. I did have a good conversation with Tim about El Crimen del Padre Amaro and LA politics.

This New York trips excites me but also makes me incredibly nervous. I know seeing Dom is going to throw me off at first, but I really can't wait. I feel like doing the countdown I did in August before he came to visit me. I'm glad his brother is going too. I didn't think I'd miss him too.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: just fine, thank you
Escuchando: riddlin' kids, "ok"

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star