listen, doo ah doo...
04.02.03 // 10:10 p.m.

The only rock band I remember listening to as a kid was the Beatles. My dad and his two younger brothers were big fans. Throughout my childhood (or little life as I'd like to call it), my dad would always pack up la guitarra in the car whenever we went camping, to the beach, or to parties.

My parents were the center of the party a lot of the time. My mother for her wit and charm, my father for his guitar. Tio John would join in on the action and together they'd sing song from the early part of the Beatles career like "Do you want to know a secret" and "I want to hold your hand." Aside from Christmas caroles, they didn't sing any other songs in English.

I'd sit on the outer edge of the circle, distracted from playing freeze tag or hide and go seek with the other kids. At six years old, I was perfectly content with just sitting and listening to the melodic songs. Eventually, I'd learn them too or my dad would take the time to teach me the words. If the song was in Spanish, he'd translate the meanings of words I had yet to learn.

Those early days are the main reason I have such an affinity for the Beatles now. I just finished reading a biography on John Lennon which focused on the last few years of his life. On my way to work, I listened to Lennon Legend and while I cleaned last weekend I listened to the 4 cd hits set. The music soothes me... and sometimes that's all I need to let me know that I'll be okay.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: soothed
Escuchando: "let it be" by los beatles

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star