an open letter to gwen stefani
06.06.04 // 8:52 p.m.

Dear Gwen,

I really love your song, New. I play it loudly in my car as I drive to and from work, home, and wherever else my Stratus takes me. I thought I could identify with it, but I was wrong. I don't like the "new" feeling. In fact, I love it when it's not new.

I like that this feeling is not new. I like that it's familiar and that I've had this experience before. I like that I know what it feels like to be held, kissed and touched by him.

See, Gwen, your kind of new is overrated. Your song ignores how wonderful it is to be able to finish his sentences or to know how he'll reply to what I say. You forgot about the long list of clever and silly inside jokes. I like knowing about him, his family, his childhood, his dreams, even his past girlfriends. I like that I have his phone number finally memorized.

You see, I like that we've had fights before, that he's been mad at me and that I've been mad at him. He knows how mean and how sweet I can be. I like that we can forgive eachother and move on and grow from our experiences. I like that I can talk to him about anything and mention people - friends, family, exes - and I don't need to explain the entire context. He just knows.

I like that he already knows what children's books I like. I know he likes Green Eggs and Ham and To Kill a Mockingbird. If he were new, I'd have to take him to Borders or the library to find that out.

I like starting anew, but I like that he's been part of my life for more than a few months, or even a year. He's seen me cry, intoxicated, and silly. I like that he's old (not literally, of course) and that we have a history.

Well, Gwen, I hope you see my point. If I ever become a gorgeous bleach blonde rock star, I'll be sure to write a song about the old and familiar.

Love,

Cindylu

[Note: check the previous entry. There are pretty people and pictures in it!]

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: nice
Escuchando: "burbujas" por si*s�

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star