the woman with the serpent skirt
06.30.04 // 7:08 p.m.

When I come back tomorrow*, I'll no longer be director.

I don't know whether to celebrate or cry. Seriously, I'm not the best at dealing with life changing circumstances. Graduations, births, deaths, new jobs, etc all scare me. Growing up, I wanted everything to remain the same. For 18 years, that was easy. I lived in the same house, went to the same schools, attended the same church on Sunday, and lived in the same community. Now, at the ripe old age of 23 and 10 months, I've taken a different approach. Not all change is bad. Some change is very good, even though it's not easy to deal with.

I don't want to write too much, or I'll cry, but I guess I just have to say that it's been good.

I never expected this job to change my life, or even to change me so much. I knew I would grow and learn a lot, but I didn't think I'd become different. I'm more assertive, organized, determined, jaded, hardworking, compassionate, tired, appreciative, and the list goes on...

It hasn't been easy. I've cried lots of times, my back and shoulders have ached, my wrist has hurt, I've gotten headaches, I've lost sleep, and I've had to deal with the crazy/dramatic staff members.

Still... I'm thankful for the opportunity, the relationships I've developed and strengthened, the skills, knowledge and passion I've gained for educational issues, and even for the gray hair. If anything serves as an indicator that I didn't drive this program into ruin is that Juan (the tough student who became one of my favorites) told me he wouldn't be here without me.

I'm going to stop now before the tear ducts start letting me know that they work very well.

*I have to come back for two weeks (paid) to help train the incoming directors.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: sad
Escuchando: "tonight" by the smashing pumpkins

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star