report from the heights
06.24.05 // 5:04 p.m.

I spent Monday through Wednesday at home. I loved it even though it's about 10 degrees hotter in Hacienda Heights than in LA (it's further inland).

I didn't have much time to go home in the past few weeks because of finals and procrastinating. I finally got around to going home on Monday. Some notes from the Heights:

Happy parents I had to pick up my parents and three others at the airport. The SUV was necessary, but driving my mom's Durango is too much for me. Even though I learned to drive on the Durango and Jeep, I prefer my little Stratus.

I love the hat I saw something I had never seen on Monday afternoon: Pap� Chepe washed dishes... and Mam� Toni didn't even freak. He ate lunch and then washed his and my mom's dish. Mam� Toni looked over as she sat at the table and didn't say anything. Her non-reaction shocked me most since in the past she's made it clear that she disapproves of men doing work in the house (cooking, washing dishes, etc).

Mam� Toni used to get embarassed if my dad helped my mom with the dishes. My mom even risked really upsetting my grandma by standing up to her a couple of times. In all my life, Chepe has never done any kitchen work. He's far from lazy and does a lot of hard work in the yard (fue jardinero).

Abuelitos Mam� Toni was too caught up in telling my mom about the latest chisme in the family: my cousin and his wife are getting a divorce. My family is known for long lasting marriages. The grandparents have been married over 62 years and the parents are going on 28. No one in my family has ever divorced. Mam� Toni was pretty upset about this, but my mom didn't take it so harsh. She told Mam� Toni that she'd been lucky up until then and it was about time her luck ran out. Then she started talking about the primary reason she didn't leave my dad when he was a heavy drinker. It was a weird discussion even if I've heard the reason before.

VR/Papas hiding I got to play with the puppy a lot. I really like him. I've had a dog before, but VR/Papas is different. He's very much like the rest of the family. He loves attention, he loves to go out and play with his friends, he likes to cuddle, and he's a handsome fella. He's a mos-KEH-dah. Yup yup.

He has a little pink hammerhead sharks he loves to play with. He'll pick it up, bring it to me and set it at my feet. If I ignore him, he starts pushing me and jumping on me. When I reach for the shark he reaches for it too and we struggle over the object. When I get the shark free of his little jaw, I throw it far away and we do it all over again. It's fun.

Minnie Mouse ears I went to Costco with my mom. She ran in to someone she knows and introduced my saying I was her second oldest. Then she said my age, 24. Of course the woman and her 22-year old daughter just had to say, "oh she doesn't look 24, she looks more like 18." That bugs me. Hey, I know I look young, but you can just keep that to yourself.

Later, that worked to my advantage. I got a manicure and pedicure and when I paid, the woman gave me $2 off because there's some deal on Tuesday. I thought 'cool!' When I got home, I told my mom. She was confused and told me, "the $2 off is only for kids under 12." What?! Eh. I saved $2.

¿Bailamos? I helped my mom make the invitation for Pap� Chepe's 85th birthday party he's throwing for himself. It's only going to be a baile with tamborazo Jerezano. Chepe used to dance up a storm at parties. I loved to dance with him, but he's slowed down a lot recently. Now, he can't get through the longer songs because he gets tired. My mom says le da pena (embarasses him) to sit down in the middle of a song, so he'll request the band plays short songs when he wants to dance. If you want to come, don't forget your botas, Wranglers, y tejanas.

The big brother, Danny Everything is really cool at home. There was drama earlier in the year and now it's all cleared up. Danny and Lori are both in summer school. He decided he's majoring in Theology and Religious Education when he transfers to some Catholic school in Ohio. Oh yeah, he's finally learning to read music after several years of just playing by ear.

Sonrisa I was surprised to hear that Lori was going to major in math. Her reasons: she likes math; her math teachers were the most attentive and left a lasting impression; with math you'll have a right answer. I know she'll do well. Lori is a very determined -- some say stubborn -- person and she'll do whatever she sets her mind to do.

Adrian Adrian promised me lunch as a graduation gift. I tried to negotiate something better like a carwash or a massage. He didn't budge, but I did get the massage 'cause he was being nice that day. Monday and Tuesday afternoon Adrian was in Egypt. Yup, he drove all the way to North Hollywood to visit Cindy, his girlfriend.

Adrian might disown me if I decide not to go to his band's gig tonight. It's been several months since I last saw them perform. Hmmmm. Adrian's gig or Mad Hot Ballroom free downtown?

Comments: 9 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: chill
Escuchando: los fabulosos cadillacs - sabato

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star