random run-ins with al and john
07.30.04 // 1:48 a.m.

Since I still haven't tackled the task of writing about my experience as a DNC protester four years ago in LA, I decided to put in tales of my random run-ins with the current and past Democratic presidential candidates.

In high school I played with members of my high school band at a fundraiser luncheon at the nearby Hsi Lai Buddhist Temple. I think it was in 1996, but I can�t be sure. It makes sense since that�s when Clinton and Gore were trying to get reelected.

All I remember were the Secret Service agents clad in dark suits leading dogs on leashes to our instrument cases to sniff out possible dangers to the Vice President. I think we played when Gore arrived. When he left with the money from the monks, nuns and Chinese business people we played something else for him.

Yes, he was rather dull. All he said to us was, �thank you, thank you all.� Or something like that. And then he was whisked away. I later learned that there was some kind of controversy with the campaign contributions from the monks and nuns.

I know that was dull, but it�s about Gore. What did you expect?

The John Kerry story isn�t much more exciting. About this time last year, I had my usual Thursday night meeting. I met the rest of the committee members in a meeting room on the third floor of the student union. A sign on the door read simply, �Sen. Kerry�. The grand ballroom of the student union was being used for a debate with other Democratic candidate hopefuls. The other politicians, like Dean and Sharpton had set up their entourage in other rooms on the second and third floor.

The room was already empty as all the candidates and their staffs were in the ballroom. My friend Paul picked up a megaphone left behind in the room. He started walking around saying nonsensical things. All of a sudden, Kerry walked in, Paul looked really embarrassed and gave him back what he had come for. Kerry thanked him and left rather quickly.

And that was it. The dozen or so students and staff members in the room had a good laugh about it when we realized that Paul had just a made a fool of himself in front of the man who could be the next president. Oh yeah, and he looked tall and skinny.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: cool
Escuchando: "mis amigos" por hombres g

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star