y yo le di mi amor, en un concierto de...
07.23.04 // 7:51 p.m.


Not the greatest picture, but it works. Back: Me, Rub�n Albarr�n (Caf� Tacuba lead singer, current alias Elfego Buend�a), Quique Rangel, Joselo Rangel, Emmanuel del Real, Ren� (aka Crazy Mophead Cousin). Front: Lori (my sister, aka Yo/Yoyi), Efr�n (Ren�s cousin, aka Tito), and Edgar. Taken in May 2003 during an LATV Live taping.

I saw los Tacubos perform last night, again. You might think that after five times of seeing them perform live, I�d be slightly bored the sixth time. That wasn�t the case, at all.

I am sure that seeing Caf� Tacuba and other rock en espa�ol bands like Maldita Vecindad (saw them last night too!) and El Gran Silencio perform live periodically is one of the things that has helped me maintain my sanity in the past few years. Without these high-energy concerts I�d have a lot of pent up aggression.

Aside from nearly provoking a fight* with some girls, the show was great. I was close enough to read the set list taped to a speaker on stage and high-five the band members. I jumped around in circles to "Las Flores" and didn�t even get dizzy. I pretended I was still a fokl�rico dancer zapateando on the tarima to the son, "Ojal� Que Llueva Caf�". I braved the mini-pit during "Chica Banda". I danced along to the silly routines for "D�jate Caer" and "El Baile y el Sal�n". I gazed dreamily at my favorite musicians during "Eres", "Mediod�a" and "Como Te Extra�o".

Other random thoughts from the night:
- I feared for my life during the ride from San Diego back to Ontario. Tito was swerving way too much.
+ After talking to Julio for half the trip back, I realized how much I like it when guys are into literature and writing.
- Los Malditos and los Tacubos shouldn�t play shows together. I expend way too much energy.
+ My T�a Luisa wouldn�t let me pay for my ticket. She insisted that since it was sort of Ren�s 21st birthday present.
- People were sitting at the show. It baffled me. I guess San Diego is different than LA when it comes to our rock en espa�ol concerts.
+ "Chilanga Banda" made me excited to be going to la capital (Mexico City).
- We parked in the same lot as the bands� tour busses. So, we saw them come out to a crowd of fans waiting for autographs and to take pictures. We all hung back and just watched Meme, Quique, Joselo and Elfego greet the fans graciously. I didn�t want to go because I�ve already done the whole meet, take pictures and get autographs thing.
+ I added "Eres" to the short list of songs that will play in the background as I make a baby. Other songs include "Samba Pa T�" by Santana and "Kumbala" by Maldita Vecindad.

My ranking (best to least enjoyable):
4th & B, San Diego, July 2004
Fillmore, San Francisco, September 2003
House of Blues, LA, December 2003
Palladium, LA, November 2002
Hollywood Bowl, LA, September 2003
Universal Amphitheatre (Watcha Tour), LA, August 2000

[*Okay, I was going to leave the story out, but I figure I should explain why I, a rather passive and peaceful woman, would want to yank some punk ass girls by las gre�as out of my space. See, although pushing is part of the concert, there is an understanding of what is appropriate and what is wrong. If I�m in the front, you really can�t push me any more. And these girls, well, they got way too close during the Maldita Vecindad set. I kept thinking that I just wanted to push the 3 girls hard out of my way so I could enjoy the show. They were little, I could�ve taken them. I didn�t do anything. I didn�t want to get kicked out before my favorite band performed. Plus, my fellow concert-goers Ren�, Ernie, Tito and Julio would�ve kept me from doing anything crazy.]


Oh yeah... no se me olvid�!

I�d like to wish the amazing man and woman responsible for bringing me and 3 other beautiful children into this world a Happy 27th Anniversary.

It's hard thinking about love and relationships when you have an ideal right in front of you.

Comments: 4 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: a bite sore
Escuchando: "cuando canto" by ozomatli

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star