i've been around the world, and i, i, i...
07.19.04 // 11:53 a.m.

I read the travel section of The Times on a weekly basis. It satisfies the wannabe globetrotter in me. I usually don�t really read the articles because many of the locations the writers covered are not high on my list of places I want to visit before I die. I always look at the pictures and scan the lowest costs for roundtrip airfares to various US and world cities, check the weekly featured photo, and take the �Geo quiz� to test my geographic literacy.

Anyway, the article that caught my eye this time, entitled �50 places to visit are enough for a lifetime,� made me think about the places I've visited and would still like to explore.

His suggestions:

United States
�Repositories of our history and currently cultural endeavors:�
1. New York
2. Boston
3. Philadelphia
4. Washington DC
National Parks:
5. Yellowstone
6. Grand Canyon
7. Yosemite
�Most exotic cities:�
8. San Francisco
9. Honolulu
10. New Orleans
11. Miami
Comic relief & relaxation:
12. Las Vegas
13. Orlando
No category:
14. Chicago

North America
15. Mexico City
16. Montreal

Caribbean
17. San Juan, Puerto Rico
18. Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic

South America
19. Rio de Janeiro, Brasil
20. Buenos Aires, Argentina

Europe
21. London
22. Paris
23. Amsterdam
24. Rome
25. Venice
26. Florence
27. Madrid
28. Copenhagen
29. Berlin

Middle East
30. Cairo (isn�t this technically Africa?)
31. Jerusalem

Africa
32. Cape Town, South Africa
33. Nairobi, Kenya

Asia
34. Bombay
35. New Delhi
36. Tokyo
37. Hong Kong
38. Bangkok
39. Beijing

South Pacific and Polynesia
40. Sydney
41. Auckland
42. Bali
43. Tahiti

The last seven are up to you to choose. Now, I�ve been to several of his must-see locations (in italics), but I think it�s to focused on Europe. Still, if I had to choose seven to his list, I don�t know what I�d pick.

Perhaps:
1. Santiago, Chile
2. Quito, Ecuador
3. Machu Picchu, Peru
4. Costa Rica
5. Barcelona
6. Canc�n
7. Guadalajara

Place takers for some of the European cities I�m uninterested in:
8. Bahia, Brasil
9. Toronto
10. Alaska
11. Guatemala City
12. Oaxaca, M�xico
13. Beirut

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: great
Escuchando: "supertortas" por las 15 letras (from puro eska�ol vol. 1)

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star