beer and bananas
07.18.05 // 10:49 a.m.

Dear Diary,

I've had a busy week. Aside from answering a bunch of questions (still working on it) I did stuff in the real world. I went to work and did stuff. I hung out with a friend I hadn't seen in a couple of weeks. I finally replaced my broken cell phone because not being able to make any long distance calls and not having anyway to get ahold of someone when I was on the road was bugging me. I went shopping and bought things I don't really need like more shoes and funny tshirts.

Then, dear diary, I did something I've never done before. I had my sister fix my hair, do my makeup, and pick out my outfit in an effort to make me look cute. I went to the MTV offices in Santa Monica and had an interview. Or maybe it was a casting call. I'm not really sure. All I know is that the woman who interviewed me was the head of casting & talent development. You know, it is really weird to talk directly to a camera and not to a person. Anyway, that was easy. Oh... you may be wondering why I went. No, I don't want to be on the Real World or anything like that (I don't know if I'd be entertaining enough, but my friend Chispa says my life is a telenovela). I went because I have a strange idea of what constitutes fun. An MTV casting associate found my blog and asked if I was interested in the position of a Latina correspondent for MTV news. I won't be on MTV, but it was fun to be a part of the typical LA industry crowd if only for 15 minutes.

Over the weekend, I was in San Diego. I had a retreat for the UC Students Association. I met some of the people I'm supposed to work with over the year and see on monthly trips to different UC campuses. I also found out there's a conference in Miami for the national graduate/professional students association. Nice.

Oh, I can't forget one of the coolest parts of the week. I met a bunch of bloggers! Monday night I headed over to downtown LA with a friend for the blogging.la meetup. There was supposedly sushi there, but my friend and I arrived on Mexican time so we missed out on the sushi. I got to meet some of my fellow b.la bloggers, drink cheap bear and play Ms. Pac Man. Fantastic.

Sunday afternoon after the retreat at UCSD I met up with Oso and some of his friends. The first thing he said to me as I stood outside his apartment was, "you look really confused." I was. Oso is even cooler in person than he is on his blog, but I don't think I can understand the appeal of drinking Bohemia beer and eating bananas at the same time. I like both, but separate is better. We took a short walk to the beach and avoided the sand since I don't like it much. However, I did find a really cool lifeguard tower.

Later, we had Vietnamese food with the infamous HP and pretended like we all actually like each other.

It was fun.

Love,
Cindylu

Comments: 19 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: my foot is asleep!
Escuchando: inevitable - shakira

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star