No street smarts
08.05.02 // 1:44 p.m.

Sometimes I think I�m a smart cookie. I have a degree from a tier-one school, graduated cum laude, graduated with tons of honors from high school and have pretty much proven that I can do alright in school. Yeah, I have the book smarts, but there are many times when I lack the �street smarts� I need. My mom used to tell me this all the time. For some reason, gifted kids like myself lacked common sense.

So, there are times when I feel like a complete idiot. I feel like my brain must have been friend in the heat of the desert or something. I know I�m not stupid, I have a brain that works well, at least most of the time.

I�m in such a terrible mood this morning because I accidentally locked my keys in Computer Blue (wait, who does this on purpose?). As I got out to get something out of the trunk, the door (which I had already locked) closed behind me and I was screwed. I�m hungry and there�s an apple in there. Oh yeah, and I feel completely lost without my schedule on hand.

It�s all good though, because my wonderful mam� is going to drive all the way to campus from the Heights to bring me a spare. The one that I did have was not in the key locker as it should have been (another stupidity on my part). Gee, what would I do without her? I�m almost 22 and I still need my parents to bail me out.

Addendum: Vane is in town! She spent the night at the apartment, but she�ll be gone later today. She was telling me how she imagines what I would add to the cohort of her program, perhaps how it would be different. Sometimes, I'd rather be there with her.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: full
Escuchando: Angel call his students

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star