Hair-story
05.08.02 // 10:24 p.m.

So I haven�t combed my hair today. It looks pretty messy but no one comments on that. Instead everyone says something about my hair being really long, and it is. It�s probably about as long as it was when I graduated high school.

Back then I cut my hair right before I began FSP. So, everyone at UCLA knew me as having short or medium length hair.

I guess whenever I cut my hair, it�s to mark a change in my life. When I started college, I started with a new look. A week after I broke up with the Turtle in the spring of 2000, I cut it short again. He liked the length, but I was tired of it and I needed the change.

That summer I cut it really short just for the hell of it, and since then I haven�t even trimmed it. The decisions to let it grow have been kind of interesting.

That fall I was with some friends and we were talking about fetishes. I asked Victor, a friend I had been crushing on for a while, his fetish and he responded �long, very straight and shiny hair.� So, I decided to let it grow, pretty dumb, no? Later on I was walking a few feet behind Mar�a, his current girlfriend, and it clicked. He loved her hair. I got over my crush with Victor a lot later than I would have originally hoped.

Towards the end of the school year last spring, I started dating Justin. For some reason we were talking about hair, and he told me he liked it more when it was about shoulder length. So, I seriously considered cutting it again. It wasn�t too long (see the picture of me and Isa), but I was already getting tired of it. Justin ended up being a punk and to show him that I didn�t care what he thought, I let it grow. Pretty dumb reason too, no?

So, now it�s long. I didn�t cut it short again in the summer because of Justin. I wanted to wait until after I took my senior portraits to cut it. I pushed off the trip to see Jes�s, the guy who cuts my hair, for a while longer.

I don�t know what to do with it now. I need to at least trim it. If a big change comes, it�ll be post-graduation. The only thing I know is that I�m not going to let a boy affect my decision this time.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: despreciada
Escuchando: "Octavo d�a" por Shakira

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star