star struck and hella geeked
05.01.03 // 9:49 p.m.

Yo called me Tuesday at 9:08 am. She awoke me asking, "What are you doing tomorrow night at about about 8?"

"Uhhh..." I responded still trying to figure out what day tomorrow was and who exactly was on the phone.

"Please say nothing!" she continued, unphased by my morning slowness.

"Nothing, why do you ask?"

"Well, do you remember that LA TV live show that Rene and Edgar were going to go to Monday night? Well, tomorrow they're going to have Cafe Tacvba as the guests on the show. They invited me to go along and I told them to put you on the list for the taping since you're obsessed with them."

Now, let's stop for a second. I don't know if you know this about me, but Cafe Tacvba is my favorite band in the world. They could do no wrong in my eyes, even if they released a CD collaborating with J-lo. So, you can imagine how geeked I was just to think that I might actually get in to the taping of this show.

I tried not to get too excited about this since I wasn't even sure that it was definite. Later, Yo called me with more details and an address. The location of the studio is just a few miles away from my apartment in familiar territory, but I got lost on my way there. Perhaps it was just the nervousness.

When I finally arrived I joined my sister and the guys (Rene, Edgar, and Efren) up near the head of the line. Since we were pretty far up in line, we were able to get seated in the second row close to all the action.

The cute hostess came out and introduced the evenings events. Viewers at home would enjoy some of the best rock and pop from Latin America and get to see "the Mexican Beatles." About 45 minutes later another one of the show's host came out to conduct the interview with Cafe Tacvba. The guys walked out in a line and joined Flavio, the crowd cheered wildly and that's when I started smiling, and didn't stop.

There, just a few feet away from me where El Gallo Gas (lead singer, with a dozen aliases, real name Ruben), Quique, Joselo, and Emmanuel. Flavio, the interviewer, asked los Tacubos questions in English and Spanish about what it felt like to perform at the Coachella Music Festival this past weekend and about their new album, which will be released in 59 short days. I listened intently to their responses and smiled at my cousin a few seats away. He smiled back, just as star struck as me.

I've been star struck a good number of times in my life. When I met one musician I was speechless, unsure of what to say. I just shook his hand and thanked him. When I met my favorite author, I just told her I loved her books and asked her to sign the ones I had with me. When I met my favorite comic artist, I got the nerve to ask to take a picture with him. When I saw another famous singer/songwriter in a local restaraunt, I just stared.

I think what happened last night was a little more than being starstruck. I was just thankful to be in the presence of musical geniuses. I kept smiling at El Gallo Gas/Elfego Buendia/Ruben since he was facing me. I contend that he smiled back at me and not anyone behind me. Since we were sitting in the second row, we were one of the lucky ones that got to take a picture with the Tacubos during the break.

I shook all their hands and asked the lead singer if his new name, Elfego Buendia, came from One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez and he just nodded his head, looking a little surprised that I knew the reference. The production assistants rushed us, but that minute was enough for me.

I got their latest EP, Vale Callampa signed too.

I was hella geeked last night. I really can't wait until September when I'll get to see them again. Sigh.

Comments: 3 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: geeked
Escuchando: "good morning aztlan" by los lobos

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star