Gag awards
06.08.02 // 6:55 p.m.

Sometimes the MEChA gag awards are not funny. They all can�t be I understand even comedians have some duds. But sometimes they border on mean and are just plain dumb. I never really liked the �awards� I was given. My first year, I got the �Nice Person Award� which was pretty unoriginal.

The following year, Erika and Li�i (the two responsible for making up the awards), thought it would be hilarious to make an award hitting on my flirting habits. So, they had Jonathan (another friend) present the award for �Most Likely to Flirt With the Presenter.� Whatever, so I�m a flirt, big deal.

Last year I was a little disappointed because my award wasn�t even funny. I thought, damn you could�ve come up with something a whole lot better than �Most Likely to Match Her Socks with This Award.� I don�t have any socks in the colors of the American flag which was part of the joke.

Last night, at the end of the year MEChA party, I got the worst award. No one really laughed, they were more surprised, and Chispa even booed. At the end some people commented that Erika went a little too far. Ome claimed she had nothing to do with it, and even told her not to give the award. I had to play it off with my fake cry even though I really did feel a little hurt.

Each person who shows up to the dinner is given an award. The presenters, usually Ome and Erika, sometimes Li�i start off by saying nice things about the subject of the award. So for me, Ome talked about my work on USAC this year, my previous work on the Mesa (board) and the fact that I�ll be returning after graduation to work for Calm�cac. Then there�s the BUT and Erika continued on with the award.

Erika began the blows to my fragile ego. �Well it�s been good working with Cindy, I guess. I should say nice things about her since she will be my boss. Anyway, to Cindy we give the award of Most Likely to Cause the Downfall of MEChA Calm�cac.�

Ouch, that was cruel. Very cruel. I felt like Cher in Clueless when Tai called her a �virgin who can�t drive� (which was me up until a couple of years ago). Tai hit right at her Achilles heel, her weak spot, and that�s where Erika got me. She played on my insecurities and made me feel like shit.

I mean, how would you feel if someone, even jokingly, expected you to be a failure?

I tried to play it off with the fake cry. I responded that I won�t be able to do it without the help of some of the people on staff next year, including Erika, and the people on staff in previous years who began the disarray of the project (Victor, Vane), which is currently doing very well.

It was okay. I know they meant it only in jest, but it gets to me considering how anxious I am about this job and if I�ll even do well.

Addendum: I sang �Sabor a mi� and �Hay unos ojos� a cappella during the talent show, or Chicana/o Power Hour.

Comments: 1 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: anxious about finals
Escuchando: Just Another Band From East LA, Disc One by Los Lobos

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star