on a friday afternoon
12.20.02 // 5:30 p.m.

In my quest to find things that I want to do in Nueva York, I've been searching The Village Voice and other places online that might have things I'm interested in. I found La Kueva through that site. It was listed as the "best place to hear live rock en espa�ol." I'd like to check out the rockera/o scene en Nueva York, but I don't know who I would take with me. The other six people who are going (Cherisse, Jamila, Tim, Lamont, Chris, Dom, and Lou) are not rockeros. As of right now it doesn't look like I'll be able to go out there. Instead, I'll probably be hitting up some of the places that Brian over at B-Boys.com suggests in his "hip hop excursion in the Big Apple."

Like most things, I think preparing for this trip is going to come down to the last minute. I have a better idea now of how to stay warm. I didn't think of the layers as something I needed to do, but now I'll be piling on the clothes.

I'll be in San Diego on Saturday for the second time in a week, but this time I'll be celebrating the holidays with family. I went on Tuesday, saw Frida with a friend and did some other stuff. Wednesday, I watched The Two Towers with Ome, Ralph and Feo. I loved The Two Towers, but I should have watched the DVD of The Fellowship of the Ring again beforehand just to brush up on stuff. I was excited about Frida for about a second and then once I heard about the film I had no desire to watch it. Personally, I wish they had shown more depth to Frida rather than just making her someone's lover. I haven't been too into love stories lately. If this film was all I knew about Frida Kahlo, I would have absolutely no idea what the fascination with her is. I'm still not one of those "Frida obsessed Chicanas" that I love to make fun of, but I do admire her work.

Last, I'd like to thank Annie for reminding me about how much I miss San Francisco and everyone and everything there, down to the ice cream. I could really go for some Mitchell's Mexican Chocolate flavored ice cream. When I went last January, Dom took me and Yo there. He tried my ice cream too, but not from the cone.

I'm counting dow the days to this trip... just one week!

Comments: 2 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: emocionada
Escuchando: nothin'

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star