Free speech?
04.21.02 // 11:13 p.m.

I came to the conclusion a long time ago that AJ (columnist from the Daily Bruin) is an idiot. However, it seems that every time I hear him in class or read another one of his op-ed pieces he adds another reason why he is lower than the scum I just scrubbed off of the toilet.

Wow, that sounds nasty and a bit hackneyed. I sometimes wish that the First Amendment of the Bill of Rights didn�t apply to AJ, but that may be going a bit too extreme. I guess its good to know what those on the far right are thinking. You got to know your opponents� arguments right? So, I guess its okay that AJ can publish as much slanderous material about me and other SE! folks on council.

I think after a while the general student body will see the mug of guy with the big forehead and wannabe George Clooney hairdo and ignore whatever diatribe he�s come up with that week.

Why am I ranting about AJ? Well, because even after a few years of reading his rants he still confounds me with the extent of his stupidity. The latest article on Wednesday provided rationale for why the slut/stud dichotomy was a good and natural one.

The article was trash, but two short sentences in particular angered me more than the others. I felt like hitting someone after reading the following:

�Now that pregnancy can be controlled, women have no rationale for refusing sex. "I don't feel like it" is far less compelling than "If we have sex, I might get pregnant."

Uh� yeah. We have NO good reason whatsoever to refuse sex. How about we just don�t want our partner�s penis in our vagina or any other orifice? �I don�t feel like it� is a perfectly fine reason to me. I can think of so many more.

If there�s one thing I�ve found consistent in many of AJ�s articles is that he feels that he can tell every other community beside his own (basically, straight WASP) what they should do. So, women should only have sex with the man they marry or else suffer being labeled a slut. Muslims should support the �War on Terrorism� and the death of thousands of innocent Afghanis. Asian Pacific Islander groups should not support Affirmative Action programs. Native Americans should not care that their culture is being bastardized and exploited by sports team mascots like the San Diego State Aztecs, the Cincinnati Reds or the Atlanta Braves. I can�t remember anything he�s written specifically to Chicanos, but he would probably tell us to love the US and assimilate or go back to where we came from.

At least people like AJ keep me on my toes and ready to argue why I believe what I believe in. I hope he's absent in class tomorrow.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento:
Escuchando:

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star