foozball
01.27.03 // 3:53 p.m.

He likes the fact that I can talk about football, I can understand it and I like it. Yeah, like millions of other folks, I watched the Raiders get their asses beat by the Bucaneers.

I credit my knowledge of first downs, two point conversions and defensive linemen all to the fact that I had to attend football games on a weekly basis for 6 years. In my boy crazy teeny bopper days I played trombone in the high school band. I played through high school and my first two years of college at dozens of games. During those six years I went from checking out the players' asses to asking the guys in the trombone section about what was going on down on the field.

Up to that point, I understood football only in point of scoring, the main objective, and a few of the key positions. I have a father, brothers, cousins and uncles who are huge sports fans. By default, I became a fan of the wide world of sports at a young age, but only knew baseball. I played little league baseball in grade school and played flag football at lunch time with classmates. By the time I got to middle school, I had already joined the band.

Thanks to marching band I now know lots about football and a little about college basketball. I figured if I was going to be at the games, I might as well know about them.

Every once in a while, I'll ask Danny and Adrian (mis hermanos) questions while we're watching Sunday football. "Are girls who like sports and understand them more attractive to you?"

They pause and think for a second. In between curses to the opposing team Danny replies, "Well, its definitely a plus." He didn't elaborate and went back to his sandwich and the playoff game between the 49ers and the Bucs.

I didn't think it made much of a difference, until recently. Yeah, so the fact that I can talk football, baseball, and to a lesser extent soccer and basketball gets me a few extra points. Hey, and now I know about wrestling too.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: simple
Escuchando: "three little birds" by bob marley

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star