why are you so far away? she said...
02.23.04 // 9:10 p.m.

I've been listening to a lot of stuff by the Cure (everything on Galore and Staring at the Sea and new music by Julieta Venegas. Both of these artists have me feeling all wistful and longing to be in love and be loved by that person I really care about.

I want to fall in love simply so I can make a fabulous mix tape of someone else's lyrics and melodies expressing in better words that I can think of exactly how I feel.

I want to be able to dedicate songs like Etta James' rendition of "At Last," Juanes' "Es Por Ti," Caf� Tacvba's "Las Flores," and Erykah Badu's "In Love With You" to him.

A few days ago, I didn't even know who that person was. I admit, I had a vague idea, but I still figured he would be the proverbial figment of my overactive imagination.

I can think of a dozen more songs, at least... but the point is, I just want to be in love so I can have creativity and motivation back. I want a muse.

The Cindylu in Love Mixtape (or two)
(not quite done yet, and in no particular order)

"At Last" - Etta James
"Es Por Ti" - Juanes
"Las Flores" - Caf� Tacvba
"In Love With You" - Erykah Badu
"Adore" - Prince
"Te Quiero" - Hombre G
"Eres" - Caf� Tacvba
"Kumbala" - Maldita Vecindad
"Can't Take My Eyes Off You" - Lauryn Hill
"Lento" - Julieta Venegas
"Just Like Heaven" - The Cure
"Love Song" - The Cure
"Make You Feel That Way" - Blackalicious
"Talk to You (Lil' Darlin')" - Talib Kweli
"Take Off Your Cool" - Andre 3000 and Norah Jones
"You are the Sunshine of my Life" - Stevie Wonder
"I Believe (When I Fall In Love It Will Be Forever)" - Stevie Wonder
"Untitled" - D'Angelo
"Tsunami" - Res
"Always and Forever" - Heatwave
"At Your Best" - Aaliyah
"Is This Love" - Bob Marley and the Wailers
"Embraceable You" - Billie Holiday
"Too Marvelous for Words" - Billie Holiday
"I Don't Care" - King Chang�
"Quisiera Ser Alcohol" - Jaguares
"Hay Unos Ojos" - Linda Ronstadt

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: still hella confused
Escuchando: "oleada" por julieta venegas

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star