el vendido
02.18.04 // 6:33 p.m.

In 2001 (or was it 2000?), I wrote a furious email to my dad complaining about Alex Rodriguez leaving the Seattle Mariners to join the [ick!] Texas Rangers. Since 1996 I had been a loyal A-Rod and Mariners fan. I was still just getting over the Mariners' loss to the Yankees in the 2000 ALCS.

I was upset for a few reasons. One, because I felt he sold out. Two, because it was Texas. I didn't have much against Texas except that he was playing for a team named after a law enforcement agency that in the past liked to go around hanging Mexicans. Okay, so I don't have all the facts straight, but I read Americo Paredes' With a Pistol in His Hand about the "Ballad of Gregorio Cortez" and the history of Mexicans and Texas Rangers. It's a very violent history full of lynchings and shady "justice." The Rangers had this motto, "Shoot first, ask questions later."

Anyway, I got over it, still cheered for Alex when he did well, but didn't follow the team much. I never went to see the Rangers play the Angels when they were in Anaheim and only watched a few of the televised games. Still, I kept the pennant with his image on it from his days as a Mariner.

Alex selling out to the Rangers was one thing... but selling out to the New York Yankees is something else. I heard the news on my flight back to LA via JetBlue's DirectTV service and ESPN.

I understand everything. The Yankees got money, a winning record and rings. Alex gots the money, and MVP title, but he wants the wins and a ring. So, he gave up shortstop to play third base and he gave up the number 3 (Babe Ruth wore it, and it's retired) to play in the Bronx for the team we all love to hate.

I don't like the Yankees. Never have, and don't think I ever will. I do like a few of the players, namely Jorge Posada (catcher) and Mariano Rivera (relief pitcher). I was glad to see them lose the World Series last year and lose to the Angels in the AL Division Series (or was it the ALCS?) in 2002.

So, Alex (my favorite player in the league) playing for the Yankees is like my best friend dating a guy I really can't stand. Sure, I want her to be happy and I know she deserves the best, but I'm secretly hoping for a disaster.

There might be a bright side to all this. Who knows, I could go to school in NYC and then I'd only be a train ride away from the home games.

I'll get over it; it's just baseball.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: sleepy
Escuchando: the cure's galore

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star