little white cord envy
02.02.05 // 7:58 p.m.

I've never been one to follow trends. I didn't buy a Tamagotchi. I don't know much about the OC. I've never worn a trucker hat (except for this time, but it wasn't my hat). I don't have Ugg boots or moccasins. I didn't tear apart t-shirts and wear them layered over a ribbed tank. And I've never bought anything from Urban Outfitters.

Most of the time, est�s cosas o programas, no me atra�n. To put it simply, it's just a lot of junk I really don't need, want, or even like. This resistance to rampant consumerism is rapidly weakening, I find it harder and harder to just say no to iPods. When El Pocho Abogado got his loan money for school he seriously considered using it to pay for a new tattoo. I felt the same way he did, but not about a tattoo. Instead, I wanted to use some of the money from my stipend to buy an iPod.

Each day when I walk from the SV parking structure to my classes and work in Moore I see dozens of undergrads walking around with their cute, little iPods. Yesterday I counted about 20 proud iPod owners. They walk around absorbed in the music. It's easy to identify them because the little white cords stand out against their dark sweaters and t-shirts. Some hold the gadget in their hands and others sing or bob their heads to the music.

Every single time I see one of these kids, I violate the tenth commandment and covet the hell out of the iPod in the student's pocket.

But... then I try to be rational and make up lists, like the one below about why I shouldn't plop down $300 for the chance to carry around all my music with me everywhere I go.

  1. The cost. I'm a poor graduate student, dammit! If I buy an iPod I have to sacrifice things like books, new shoes, or rent.
  2. I'm always listening to something. If I'm in my car it's a CD or KCRW for music and NPR news. At my apartment I'm always listening to something as well. So, the only times during the day when I'm not absorbed by the music or someone talking is on the walk to work/class. I don't want to overload my senses with constant auditory stimulation. I might get bored of my music quicker that way. Who knows. Point is, I don't mind silence sometimes, and it's rare when I get it.
  3. I don't like the headphones. I actually really don't like wearing headphones, especially the ones that go in your ears. Those headphones never fit quite right and always feel uncomfortable.
  4. The cost. Yeah, again. If I'm going to spend money on music, I'd rather buy concert tickets (Coachella!) or even more new music. Plus, if I save my money right now, I'll have more to spend when I (hopefully) return to M�xico this summer.

If you have an iPod, feel free to tell me how great it is. I can easily override any of the reasons I listed.

Comments: 6 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: worn out
Escuchando: "such great heights" by the postal service

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star