las noticias
02.02.05 // 12:25 a.m.

I hardly read the Daily Bruin anymore. After my last year as an undergrad I really didn't like a lot of the staff and was tired of the way they framed political issues on campus. But those people have left, and lately I find what they're writing more interesting and relevant.

I have a couple of friends who voted in the Iraqi elections on Sunday. One is a law student at NYU. He was born in Iraq and emigrated to the US with his family at a young age. G-money, as I call him, doesn't really talk much about his childhood experience there or the stories about why his family fled. They're sad stories, but he tries to inject some humor.

The other friend who voted was Yousef who I met while working in the CPO on campus and also through coalition organizing against the war. I was a little surprised to see him and his brother on the cover of the Bruin yesterday.

The other story that struck me was one on the hunger strikers who risked their lives so that we could get a Chicana/o Studies center and now a department.

Comments: 3 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: my brain hurts
Escuchando: "irish blood, english heart" by morrissey

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star