on privacy
02.15.05 // 12:06 p.m.

If it's your decision
To be open about yourself,
Be careful or else
Be careful or else

From "Memory Lane" by Elliott Smith

I'm not the most private person in the world. Keeping a blog, posting pictures online and leaving a number of "identifiers" sprinkled through out demonstrates that quite well. If someone who knows me from school, work, or family came across my blog, it would be very easy for him or her to make the very simple connections and identify the author of loter�a chicana as his/her classmate, co-worker or cousin.

Despite all this, I still get very antsy when someone I interact with on a daily basis or who knows me outside of the "internets" finds this.

I know that I'm not very savvy about hiding this. It has never been my intent to make this completely private. There are links sprinkled all over the place that lead back to this blog. I wouldn't be surprised if someone came here through MySpace, Flickr, my AIM profile or a comment in someone's blog.

I wouldn't mind either since those are direct ways. I put the link on all of those pages. I don't ask people to use search engines to find me. I guess it's just sneaky to use that method... especially if you know me and see me pretty often.

I'm generally a pretty open person. I think I'm honest and upfront with people when I need to be. In fact, I've become a lot more assertive in the past few years. I had no choice. What kind of competent supervisor is passive or even passive aggressive? Speaking of passive aggressive behavior, I know what I'm doing fits that perfectly well. I don't care.

Last, I just wanted to leave something from a blogger's disclaimer:

If you have a real life relationship with the writer, remember that communication is very important. View weblogs as online journals, no less sacred than a diary hidden between the mattresses. First of all let them know that you read their site, especially if they did not tell you personally.

That's all I have to say.

Comments: 4 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: not good, getting sick
Escuchando: "black magic woman" by santana

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star