for the love of my family
02.13.05 // 9:09 p.m.

Gustavo wrote in an email a couple days ago:

I have a question for you though. What's your motivation? What drives you in getting your doctorate? I am always curious to know what drives other chicano/latino students in higher education.

I had to think about the answer a little. Why am I putting myself through the lengthy, rigorous and potentially isolating process of earning a doctorate? What drives me?

This isn't the first time I've had to think about this. When I applied to schools last fall, I had to write about why I wanted a PhD or an MA (depending on which school I was applying to). Even though I'm fairly confident in my writing ability it was still difficult to express in coherent words why I wanted to be in a PhD program.

I tried to write it at the beginning and end of my personal statement:

Last few sentences of the first paragraph:
My personal experience as a first generation Chicana and student leader, combined with my academic background in Chicana/o Studies and Sociology, and my current work in the retention of underrepresented students serve as my primary sources of motivation to pursue a doctoral degree in the Higher Education and Organizational Change (HEOC) program from the UCLA Graduate School of Education and Information Studies. The doctoral degree will be an important part of my personal goal to become a professor and researcher in higher education. As a researcher, I hope to contribute to the body of research on higher education, the retention of underrepresented students, and the role of student leaders and activists in creating institutional change.

Last few sentences of my personal statement
. My background has informed my desire to pursue a career in higher education and work to improve higher education experiences for Chicana/o and Latina/o students as well as other underrepresented students of color. It is for these aforementioned reasons that I ask you to strongly consider my application for admission into the HEOC doctoral program.

While all those reasons are absolutely true, I think it was written partially for my audience and was devoid of the passion.

My reasons for doing this are, in ascending order:

The ones that inspire, motivate and keep me going:


My sister, Lori (21), and cousin, Christine (17)


My cousins Nancy (19) and Vanny (16)


My niece (cousin's daughter), Star (8)


My cousin and ahijada (god daughter), Valerie (9). She's also known as the Sunshine of my Life.

Comments: 7 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: happy
Escuchando: "pasa mountains" by quetzal

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star