and i love her
01.21.04 // 6:34 p.m.

My Madrina Bertha's funeral (Tuesday morning) and rosario (Monday evening) were beautiful services. Some thoughts:

- I can only hope that I live my life the way she did and touch as many people in a postive way. The church was full for both the Mass and the rosario. Standing room only.

- You ever see people in the coffin, and they just don't look right? You think, 'That's not him/her. That makeup is horrible.' It wasn't like that at all with my madrina. She looked beautiful in her pink dress in the coffin.

- My Padrino Jos� read a poem he wrote for her at the beginning of the Mass. I think it was the only time I cried. �C�mo se dice adios cuando el camino a�n no se ha recorrido? No ser� adios sino hasta luego.

- I sang my heart out, just like I planned. My Padrino asked the old choir to get together and sing for the services. My dad coordinated it. Danny sang the Salmo Responsorial (El Se�or es mi pastor, nada me faltar�...). I think the music was part of what made the services beautiful.

- I knew the services would be a bittersweet reunion of sorts for my parents. I ran into many of their old friends and their friends' kids now grown and some with kids of their own. We all grew up together, and went to many birthday parties, camping trips, weddings, quincea�eras, baptisms, etc together. It's a bit sad that the reunion comes with death.

- Some of the people I ran into immediately recognized me. I was told I was a "Luz chiquita," or that I looked a lot like my mom. It all depends on who you ask though. Some think Lori looks more like my mom.

- The incense smelled like flowers. That was the first time for me, I think it was special for my Madrina.

- I don't want to say that the daughters "took it well," but they seemed at peace. I saw many smiles, and even laughter. It really was a celebration of her life.

- At the cemetery, my mom pointed out where her lot was at, along with my grandparents', and a few other family members. It was rather odd and a bit disconcerting. I know we'll all die, but planning for it is weird to me.

- My Padrino requested the Beatle's "And I Love Her."

Es todo.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: meh
Escuchando: los lobos "be still"

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star