hola, dos mil cuatro
01.02.04 // 6:52 p.m.

�Feliz A�o Nuevo!

Any year that begins with Stevie Wonder�s �Sir Duke� is destined to be good. 2003 began that way, and it went well, so 2004 can only be better.

I have yet to think of my goals for this year, at least seriously. I joked on Wednesday night that in 2004 I was not going to take things so seriously. I�m too young to be fretting over little and insignificant things.

I know 2004 will be filled with changes, but I�m expecting some and feel that I�m preparing well.

I spent New Year�s Eve in San Francisco and Oakland with very good friends. Early in the evening, I joined Vane in Oakland for a benefit party to commemorate the 10th anniversary of the Zapatista uprising in Chiapas, M�xico. Vane�s Danza Azteca group opened up the event with the traditional ceremonial dances. I�d never seen her dance before, so it was great. I feel like I need to do something like that too, not only because it�s spiritual, but I also just love to perform and be on stage. Ralph and Ome also joined us there. We left the �Zapachanga� around 10 to return to the apartment and get ready for a much less conscious party in San Francisco.

Vane and I got to the party at Dom�s new house a little after 11. As soon as I got there I ran into some of his old friends from his hometown. There were several other folks from LA that I knew. I had a blast, drank just enough to get drunk but not through up / not remember / or feel really hung over the next day. Vane left me at the party a bit after midnight, but I met up with her in the afternoon the next day. Later, we went over to Ralph�s house and had dinner with him, Ome and his family.

The drive back was pretty uneventful except for the rain in the Central Valley and the fact that Chris got pulled over for being black� oops, I mean �speeding� (he was going about 70 in a 65 mph zone!).

And that�s it for now. It�s been cold and wet in LA all day. Boo.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: fr�a
Escuchando: donnie's the colored section

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star