Elections
04.22.02 // 11:23 p.m.

It�s the most wonderful time of the year. No, not spring, USAC (Undergraduate Students Association Council) elections! For the last four years I�ve done something in elections. The first two years it was campaigning in favor of referenda. The third year, I ran as a candidate, and now I will be supporting other candidates and campaigning for them.

I just got back from endorsement hearings in which student groups asked candidates questions in order to choose who they will endorse. The candidates with the Student Empowerment! slate on which I ran with last year kicked ass. Seriously, we�re always the best prepared, most well spoken and best experienced students running for office. You might think I�m biased, well I am, but the point is if I was an average student I�d probably still feel that way.

As much as I am glad to be ending my tenure in student government within the next few weeks, and as much as I am skeptical about the whole experience, the actual campaigning still gets me hyped up. Its great, you meet lots of new people while campaigning and get very close to people. Its stressful, but at the same time its great to know that people really do believe in you. Its also kind of fun clowning on the opponents. They�ve learned to speak our rhetoric but they still do not have anything to back it up. I felt like laughing aloud at some of the responses earlier, but that would have just been plain mean.

I have midterms coming up. This is quite scary since I�ve just realized that I have done hardly any reading for two of my three classes. I have a rally tomorrow too that I helped to organize (to save a free bus program). I hope it goes well.

Last, off with the head of David �N� D. who forgets that when you write a persuasive article you should include concrete examples to prove your point. However, I realize why he didn�t do that� because he had no point. I�m going to work on a response article tonight and prove that what he said was shit.

Addendum: I am engaging in talks with several advisor-type people to explore the option of applying to be the director (a full time position) for the MEChA Calmecac academic supports program next year. This means, that I might be at UCLA for another year or two.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento:
Escuchando:

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star