Eating habits
05.07.02 // 10:09 p.m.

I have terrible, unhealthy, absolutely no good eating habits. I think if I did not have to nourish myself for survival I wouldn�t eat anything besides Golden Delicious apples, arroz, aguacate, mangos, fidello, bolillo y papas.

So, how bad are my eating habits? Well, a nutritionist would probably freak out if she knew what I ate on a daily basis.

What I have consumed today thus far: one (1) Golden Delicious apple #4021 and one (1) bag of Snyder�s of Hanover honey and mustard flavored bread things.

That�s it.

Okay, so you�re probably wondering, �does she have an eating disorder?�

Well, I�ve wondered myself. See, when I was more freaked about my weight I even contemplated the idea of making myself throw up. I scratched that thought because vomiting is too damn painful and messy. Now, I just put off eating while studying, working or doing ten other things. I�ll say I�m too busy to eat and then I don�t want to eat anything on campus because it doesn�t appeal to me.

In the morning I�ll try to grab fruit or a granola bar if its available. I�m always in a rush and don�t even have time to brush my hair sometimes. I�ll hold off on lunch until the hunger gets to be too much or I give in and buy some unappealing and over-priced food on campus. If I�m not too lazy, I might even have cereal when I get home at night. That�s the daily routine.

I wasn�t like this until fairly recently. I ate well at home and I still do when I�m around there, Mom and Mam� Ton� make sure of it. Mam� Ton� goes so far as to make me whatever I want or she�ll bring me my favorite fish from Tijuana.

I ate alright when I lived in the dorms, but the only thing there was that I often ended up eating a late dinner, which isn�t much different than now. There I didn�t have to worry about cooking, which I suck at.

I don�t think I do this because I want to be thinner. I know that�s not the right way to do it. I have lost some weight since I got to UCLA though, something people don�t expect since they think buffet style dining halls will certainly lead to the freshman 15. I don�t really know what my problem is but I know that Mam� Ton� would freak if she knew.

There�s a rumbly in my tumbly and I have a headache. I need to eat.

Addendum: the interview was alright though I should have been more prepared. The committee consisted of the following folks who are all good friends of mine: Antonio (chair of the committee) Henry, Ome, Nahui (the MEChA internal vice chair, good friend, and Liz 4), Lil� Vane (the Chicana/o Studies coordinator) and Claudia (acting Gender and Sexuality coordinator and secretary/treasurer). I should know by Friday what their decision will be.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento:
Escuchando:

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star