the boondocks and okayplayer
02.05.03 // 7:10 p.m.

I saw the man I'm going to marry again last night. He just doesn't know it yet.

I drove out to the CalTech campus in Pasadena to hear/see Aaron McGruder, the guy who draws The Boondocks.

[Tangent: I've never been to CalTech and I have to admit its a beautiful campus. I feel a little nerdier being there, like if I know something about math and science. I was good at math and science at one point. I enjoyed algebra, chemistry and biology. I even considered being pre-med. I don't know what drove me away, I think just general fear that I would fail.]

Okay, so I'm infatuated with Aaron McGruder. That's not much of a secret. Not only is he quite aesthetically pleasing, but he's also witty and shares my viewpoints on lots of things, like the fact that the war sucks, Bush is a moron, etc.

As I was sitting in the auditorium I thought about how much a simple comic strip has affected my life. I started reading the strip daily in the spring of '99 when I first caught sight of it in the LA Times. In the fall I started visiting Boondocks.net and posting on the message boards regularly. It was fun, I enjoyed it and then the boards died. I think that was in the Fall of 2000. I missed the kind of discussions about everything from relationships to hip hop I got from the boards over at Boondocks.net. While there I'd heard about a site called okayplayer. I didn't know anything about it, but decided to check it out and got sucked into that. I started posting as "cindylu" and the rest is history.

Okay, what history are you wondering? Well, I started getting into hip hop and other music. Before that, most of my music collection consisted of rock en espa�ol. I checked out the Roots, Common, and other okay artists and liked them. Other OKPs would recommend musicians and I'd check them out.

Then, I started meeting folks. I met people who I now consider family and through them I met other people. Another thing, I wouldn't have started this journal if not for OKP. When some people would post, I'd see the link to their diaryland journal. I thought it was pretty cool and decided I wanted one too.

So, I guess you could say OKP is sort of a family. Yeah, so you can thank Aaron McGruder if the reason I know you is directly/indirectly tied to OKP.

Comments: 2 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: okay
Escuchando: "the light" by common

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star