Weekend in the desert
08.04.02 // 9:37 p.m.

I really needed a change of scenery -- and temperature -- for the weekend. It's not that I don't enjoy my work, but it is difficult, and since school ended the only real break I had was a week, including the weekend in the bay to see Dominic.

I am used to hot summers, but nothing really prepares me when I visit the desert. My parents went out for their annual business retreat, and I joined them Friday night. I spent most of the weekend baby sitting, which wasn't the type of relaxing I was hoping for.

However, if you would have seen Aidan, the 2 year old I watched each morning and Saturday evening, you would have fallen in love just like I had. Aidan looks like a cherub, with his round belly and light brown curly hair. His 5 year old sister, Mia, is a handful though. I was lucky if she was just sitting still. Anthony, the oldest at 12, is a good kid, but paired with his sister they get kind of crazy.

I did a little swimming, watched Goldmember (I still like the second movie more), and did some shopping. The goal was to try and stay out of the heat during the day and come out at night when it was only 80 something degrees out.

I still think I need a little vacation, without Aidan, Anthony, Mia, Adrian, Nancy, Vanny, and Jon to deal with (yup, at one point I was responsible for all of them).

I'm looking forward to the week. I feel a bit refreshed and better to be away from Calmecac things all weekend. It seems like that's all I think about and do all week. Either I'm in one meeting, preparing for another, trying to get a hold of someone or working on our budget proposal. I think I even missed some of the other directors (I'll have to write about them later).

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: renewed
Escuchando: "In my eyes" by Rufio

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star