i need a miracle
12.03.03 // 5:02 p.m.

[Oh joy. Another grad school entry. I need a place to vent.]

On a short walk back from a meeting and picking up my transcripts at the administration building, I ran into David. He was coming from my office where he does weekly office hours as a professional counselor. David is hella cool, he had my position years ago and helps me out with a lot of work stuff. He's also a PhD student in the school of education, so I've talked to him about my grad school plans.

David: Hey, you coming back from the meeting?
Me: Yeah, that and picking up my transcripts.
David: Oh, that's right you're applying. How is that going?
Me: (crying) Everything is coming together, except for the letters of rec.

I felt like such a baby crying to him. He was nice and all and told me I needed to be more aggressive. He even offered his office as a place I could go to if I needed to just get out of the office and get some grad school work done. I want to be at UCLA more than ever now, but who knows if it'll work out.

David told me he wished he had a punching bag for me so I could use it as a stress reliever. He doesn't have to worry about that. I'm seeing Caf� Tacvba again tonight so I should get some hits in.

Do I have any good news? I have two meetings set up with faculty whose work is inline with my interests at UCLA. They were really responsive which makes me feel a little better. Also, I got in contact with a professor who I'd love to be my advisor at Michigan. I knew she'd be coming to UCLA next year, but I just wanted her to confirm and still show my interest in her work.

Man, I got to enlist las animas de mi t�a Macaria. She always comes through, unless it has to do with baseball. I don't think she liked it much.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: anxious
Escuchando: nada

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star