the crush list
04.08.03 // 8:01 p.m.

So, I've been thinking about old crushes today (inspired by a post at okayplayer.com). There's a reason my friends in high school nicknamed me 31 Flavors... Okay, so I thought lots of guys were cute, and had little crushes on plenty of guys, but the following are the most significant crushes from high school on.

1. Kevin (June 94-August 94): He played trombone with me in the band. As soon as I met him I liked him. He looked a lot like another friend, Marc, who I had known since 7th grade and they were good friends. He was goofy, thoughtful, smart... basically my kind of guy. Eventually, the crush wore off and we ended up just being reall good friends. He's still one of the few people who can get away with calling me Cynthia.

2. Tony (August 94-January 96, I think): I started talking to Tony at the beach to celebrate the end of band camp late in the summer. I discovered then that he was quite fun. My first year we had some classes together including English and band so we spent lots of time together. I don't really know what drew me to tony, but he was hilarious and really smart. Tony was a "Disney freak" just like me. We even saw Pocahontas together and he gave me cd's of Disney music for my quincea�era. At one point, I thought he liked me too, but I was never certain. I don't know why I really stopped liking him. It was probably due to the fact that we started spending less time together. Also, a friend let it slip that I had a mini-crush on his older brother, Vinny, and he seemed to hate me for a while. He came to my 21st birthday party, and I still see him around in the Heights.

3. Zack (August 96-September 97): the first white guy I ever liked, your stereotypical blond haired, blue-eyed type evn. He played tenor sax in band and was on the soccer team. He was one year behind me and hung out with the same clique I did. zack was the reason I started giving guys nicknames. His was "lithium" (you take prozac with lithium). I don't see him around anymore in the Heights and didn't even talk to him too much the last few months of high school, but I have pictures of us together at graduation and lots of good memories of our band trip to the UK and football games.

4. Dario (September 97-June 98): I haven't seen him since I graduated high school. He played soccer, was a year behind me in school and was one of the only other Chicanos in the Honors/AP track, so we both knew it was like to be in a class where no one looked like us. I memorized Dario's schedule and altered the way I walked to class my senior year. I'd head to the library in the morning where I knew he'd be most days before class. We'd have conversations about lots of random things, but focused a lot on school and future plans since I was on my way out at the time. I don't know how all my family found out that I really liked Dario, but they did. My mom would even talk to his aunt about what I thought of her nephew... I asked Dario to prom, and he couldn't go. I was sad, but got over it. He's at Stanford now (I like 'em smart!).

5. Gabriel L. (January 99-April 99): He was a 3rd year, I was a 1st year, and he had a gorgeous smile. I met him doing volunteer work at a high school, he was in MEChA, and we played soccer together too. The best memory was when he consoled me after I bumped into another guy playing soccer. It was head on collision and hurt bad. That spring, Vane (ex-roomie) started dating him. They live together now. I still haven't confessed to her that I had a crush on Gabriel when we were first years.

6. The Turtle (May 99-April 2000, and brief periods for the next year or so): I used to call him a bio-freak, for is major, physiological science/pre-med. The Turtle crush started in the spring of my first year, in the fall we started dating, and broke up the next spring. He was my first boy friend, and I realize now we were both a lot more innocent back then. We're still really good friends.

7. Victor (April 2000-March 2001, I think): I really hated having such a big crush on Victor (aka V-scale), because it was one of those thin line things. We were really good friends, and then even while I was dating the Turtle, I started liking Victor. We'd spend lots of time together, had our own little inside jokes and played video games when we were stressed. Vic was good to talk to about pretty much anything too. He's the reason I think trucks are sexy and renewed my affinity for dancing to norte�as. I'm sure he figured this crush out, even his roommate would act like we were dating or something. The crush wore off as we started spending less time together and he started dating MM. We're still good friends and still have those same inside jokes.

8. Arshad (April 2001-?): if you've been reading, you know about this guy. We met doing coalition work and working on affirmative action issues. The mind and shoes/great sense of style attracted me at first. He messes with my head, but I still think he's great. We work in the same center now, so I see him on a daily basis, but I'll forever call this one the "mini-crush."

8. Justin (June 2001-August 2001): I didn't even realize I liked him, but I did. We hooked up, it was a big mistake, and surprisingly we're still cool with eachother.

9. The Redhead... if you've been reading for a while, you know this story, and unlike the other ones, I can't still say we're good friends and we talk or see other all the time.

10. Secu... again, if you've been reading, you should know about this one. I can't pinpoint a start, but I know I started feeling something in January of '03.

That's it for now. I feel like reading old diaries for some historical perspective.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: eh
Escuchando: nada

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star