fortune cookie
01.26.03 // 9:59 p.m.

"The nightlife is for you."

Claudia laughed when I opened up Ralph's fortune cookie and showed her the little strip of paper with pink text printed on it. "Ha! But you don't even have a life to begin with!"

"Shut up. I did have a life when I was in New York."

She's right, I really don't have a life and much less a nightlife when you really think about it. I'm 22, employed, fresh out of college, and I still spend most of my weekend bumming it at my parent's house in the boring suburbs.

I don't mind this life much, to tell you the truth. I got plenty of the night life when I was in NY and it wore me out. That's the kind of thing I do while I'm on vacation, go out and party. When the group went to the bars and clubs, I drank more than I usually do because (one) I practically needed it to loosen up and enjoy myself - clubs really aren't my seen - and (two) simply because I didn't have to worry about driving home. In LA, I usually have to drive which means I can't drink.

The clubs in NYC are different (at least the ones I went to) than the ones I'm used to in LA. Part of the reason I don't go out too often in LA is because it feels like such a chore to get a bit dressed up. I didn't have to worry about that in NYC just because there wasn't a strict dress code. Oh yeah, most places I went to I didn't have to worry about a cover charge, and if there was one it was less than I pay anywhere in LA. The best thing wasn't the lax dress code or low/no cover charge, but the deejays playing great music, and the fact that the party didn't end until 4 am. Beautiful. I could get to a place at 1 and still have plenty of time to enjoy myself.

The NYC nightlife has its downsides too. The drinks are expensive, meaning it cost a lot if you wanted to get buzzed or even drunk, especially if you had a high tolerance. I didn't have to worry about this because I have a low tolerance and the Redhead bought me a few drinks. The other thing that bugged me like crazy was the smoking indoors. In California, you can't smoke in bars, clubs, restaurants and other places. Most of the time smoking doesn't bug me too much, but in small, crowded, stuffy rooms it does. I hated going home and having my hair and clothes smell like smoke. My last pet peeve about NYC nightlife, at least for us, was getting home. No one had a car so it usually meant the train, which took forever to get back to Brooklyn. Even if we took a cab, it was a hassle because it seems as if there's only one yellow cab driver who knows his way around Brooklyn. So, getting home took a while. Anywhere from 30 minutes to an hour. At least in LA, I know I'll get home quickly and in the comfort of my car.

I've been trying to go out with Ome lately. We could go to one of the many rock en espa�ol clubs in the LA area and dance until two in the morning. I think most of them would be better than La Kueva in Queens. I want to get a better feel for the LA nightlife, but there's one little problem, I don't have time.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: good
Escuchando: "sabor a mi" by los lobos

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star