Colleagues
08.06.02 // 8:35 p.m.

It seems like in the past year and a half I have been almost thrown into a new group of people to work with. Last year, it was the SE! folks that I started working with as early as April as we campaigned to earn our seats on the student council. For the last six weeks, it has been the other Student Retention Center directors, and to a lesser extent the Student Initiated Outreach Center (SIOC) Directors. I�ve been here for more than six weeks, and it finally feels like I have the hang of things, but it must be a cruel joke, because as soon as I feel okay about that more changes come with the start of staff training.

Anyway, currently I�ve been working a lot with the other directors. I get a long well with all of them, but it�s a much different dynamic than when I was on USAC. We�re all supposed to be the support network for each other because we know how stressful this job is. Before I even started, Henry told me how much I would need the other directors as support, not just professionally but also personally.

He was right (he usually is). For a few weeks, I was feeling a little concerned, because things weren�t going all too well between all of us. Let me just break it down. First there�s Paul, the only returning director for SEA CLEAR. He�s currently in the process of applying to medical school. Most of the time he�s really laid back and helpful, but there are times when he can just be a bit grumpy. Since the office is so tiny, all the directors have to do is turn around in their chairs to face each other. Paul�s desk is only a few feet away from mine. We�re the youngest of the group, he�s 23 and I�m almost 22.

Directly adjacent to the Calmecac desk is the SPEAR cubicle where Rose(Anne) does her work. I�ve known both Rose and Paul for at least a year, but in different capacities. I first met Rose when we were still students. She�s like Paul, a little less laid-back, straightforward and easy to talk to. Rose and I joke around, but we also have the experience of spending a year on USAC. Another commonality is that although we know the projects from the administrative and board point of view, prior to being directors, we had never worked within the project as peer counselors or coordinators. So, we both had the same anxieties about counseling.

Honestly, I get along the best with these two. They both thought that I was quiet and nice at first, but now agree that I�m a smartass (I fit in perfectly!). I think I�m getting what I�m needing from Paul and Rose, both that professional support as well as a new friend.

The third director, Nieema (from ASP), is quieter, but she�s still easy to get a long with. I think the reason Paul, Rose and I are more comfortable together thus far is that we�re around more. Nieema just graduated, like myself, so we have that in common.

Finally, there�s Molly. She has the biggest desk next to Rose�s. I think if there�s one thing all the director�s agree on, is that she�s not the easiest person to work with. Perhaps, its because as a former director (in �97-�98) the SRC was much different. Some of our director�s meetings have been a little tense too. Even from an outsider�s point of view, you can tell that she keeps to herself more. I think we�re all working on this. We all know that communication is key, but its not so easy.

I�ve been speaking up more, voicing my concerns while at the same time trying to do it tactfully. I vent to Henry, Ome, Chispa and to a lesser extent Paul and Rose. I guess I feel that as the baby I have to prove myself a little more. I�m getting the hang of this as I go� yup.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: impatient
Escuchando: Now by Maxwell (thanks to Nieema)

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star