Cien cosas
08.16.02 // 9:06 p.m.

100 things about me

1. I just graduated in June

2. I graduated cum laude

3. My GPA was a 3.626

4. I could have done much better

5. But I never put much effort into my school work

6. I did a double major and a minor in 4 years

7. That impresses some people

8. I was in a program for Gifted and Talented students called GATE as a kid

9. I represented over 25,000 students on student council

10. I�ve only had 2 �real� jobs

11. I�ve been the interviewer more times than I�ve been the interviewee

12. My roommate interviewed me for my job (there were other people too)

13. I have several nicknames

14. I go by Cindy most often and then Cindylu

15. I was born in Monterey Park, California (near East LA)

16. Before leaving to school, I had only lived in one home

17. I have two brothers and a sister

18. I get along with them well, most of the time

19. I�m the second oldest

20. No one in my extended family (all 100 or so folks) was born in 1980 too

21. I�m in the middle of the �kids� and the �adults�

22. I tend to hang out more with the kids

23. 23 is my parents� favorite number

24. I like it too

25. It�s 8:31 right now, that�s my birthday

26. I�ll be 22 in 15 days

27. I don�t look 22

28. Some people say I look 17

29. My parents have been married for 25 years

30. I learned about unconditional love from them

31. 31 is my favorite number

32. I�m a Chicana

33. Being a Chicana is what I base my identity on

34. It encompasses both my race/ethnicity and gender

35. My roots are in Zacatecas and Guanajuato, M�xico

36. I haven�t visited either place in over 10 years

37. I really want to go

38. Spanish is my first language

39. I speak/read/write it fluently

40. I sometimes trip up on words though

41. I�d like to know more Nahuatl

42. I know less than 50 words

43. I�m very particular about language and the power of words

44. My identity and culture are inherently tied to my language

45. I majored in Sociology and Chicana/o Studies

46. I had a minor too, it was Spanish

47. I�m scared of the real world

48. I like to hide in academia

49. I want to go to graduate school and get a PhD in Ethnic Studies or Chicana/o Studies

50. I�m working on my time management

51. I�m setting goals for myself (short term and long term)

52. I�ve never really done this

53. Sometimes I feel like no one is worried about me

54. They should be

55. I don�t have it all together

56. I almost broke down twice this week

57. I deal with stress by writing, kicking someone, alone time, or buying CDs

58. I don�t drink too much

59. Alcoholism runs in my family and I�m scared I could become one

60. I�ve never smoked a cigarette

61. I have smoked marijuana

62. I feel the need to maintain a �good girl� image around my parents

63. I was raised Catholic

64. I still feel closely tied to the church primarily because I need some sense of spirituality and community I get from there

65. I don�t agree with a lot of the teachings

66. I tested as a �liberal Catholic� once

67. I need to go to confession � and be really honest

68. I�m really picky about music, but I can�t pick just one genre

69. I pledged money to KCRW (a local radio station)

70. I�m short, 5�2.5� (or somewhere abouts)

71. I wear patterned socks (if any)

72. Some days, like most of this week, I didn�t comb my hair after showering

73. It�s straight, I can get away with it

74. I really don�t know how to apply makeup

75. I have a complex about looking pale and young

76. I have the potential to be darker (my brothers are MUCH darker than me, they look very indigenous and Mexican)

77. Some people tell me I look part Asian

78. I develop crushes very easily

79. I have two on people at work

80. I can�t touch one

81. I have an okay relationship with my ex, we almost got back together last year�

82. I call him the Turtle. He recently found this out.

83. I was embarrassed.

84. I sometimes think about what it means that my boy, Dom, is white and I�m a Chicana

85. I feel odd when I�m around Chicano or Latino men (ie the Mission) and I�m with Dom

86. I think I have issues

87. I collect Gelly Roll pens

88. I had my ears pierced as a baby, but only started wearing earrings again yesterday

89. My favorite candy is the tamarindo Pelon Pelo Rico

90. My sister, Yo, is my best friend

91. My cousin, Valerie, is the Sunshine of my Life

92. Chispa and Isa can read my mind

93. I can tell them anything

94. I�m often late

95. I�m not a morning person

96. I love to dance

97. I used to dance traditional Mexican dances

98. I still fit into the dresses

99. I have freckles (very light ones on my cheekbones)

100. I want to live in the Bay (this was before Dom!)

Comments: 1 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: hopeful
Escuchando: ... nada

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star