Band Aid
09.10.02 // 6:59 p.m.

Red flags for depression (according to a woman from Student Psychological Services who visited us one day in training two weeks ago):

- The student is not eating well

- The student is not sleeping well

- The student is not attending class

- The student is missing appointments for no reason

- Grades drop drastically

Okay, so I sat there, and thought hey that was me all last academic year! Well almost. Okay, so I never eat well. And sleeping well is a challenge for me because I work better at night but still need to be up in the morning to do work related things. Attending class? Well, it really depended on which class it was. With some I went all the time, and others I just wasn�t invested in. About the grades, I don�t think you can count getting B�s a drastic drop in grades.

So� I didn�t have a big problem, but I should probably seek some professional help anyway. I have a bunch of unresolved issues. I talked to Carlos, my peer counselor four years ago who is now a professional academic counselor. We spoke about Yo and it�s affects on me. I think my intention going to see him was just to stop and say hello, talk about Calm�cac, graduation, and just shoot the breeze. But it�s always deeper when I see Carlos.

I think I was looking at a reader he prepared for the peer counselors where he works. As I flipped through it I found an article on dealing with crisis situations, specifically suicide. And it hit me there. I hadn�t dealt with it at all. I dealt with it in the classic �band aid� mode. We rarely talk about it now. I think part of it was because I knew Yo really just needed that time to move on. However, with this band aid obviously I still had wounds, and had to deal with them.

So, Carlos saw through it all� and he told me I needed to see a professional. Well, not in that way, but he highly recommended it to me. And I put it off like I do all the other things that are tough to deal with. I think I need a session with those folks from SPS (or even another therapist or psychologist) even more.

Comments: 1 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: ok
Escuchando: Si*S� "Bizcocho Amargo"

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star