magical words
04.28.05 // 5:40 p.m.

I'm a sucker for guys who are good with the written (and spoken) word. One of my favorite quotes on relationships/love comes from the short story "Eyes of Zapata" in Woman Hollering Creek by Sandra Cisneros.

All I've wanted was words, that magic to soothe me a little, what you could not give me.

Unfortunately, most of the men I have dated don't have those words. I hint to my liking of it too, but they don't really seem to get it. It doesn't even have to be in a poem, since I know that most people aren't good at writing poems. A few days ago an old beau IM'ed me out of the blue. All he said was "cindylunares." Do you know how big I smiled to read that? Probably not.

Anyway, this all reminded me of Iago and his words. Ever since he wrote this poem for me, I've been smitten. It's too bad he's in New York. At least he's living out his dream as a playwrite.


the original travel haiku
by iagoali

1
lost in athens greece
old man owns this crazy store
he talks, i buy shirt

2
ipanema beach
waves bounce us off ocean floor
near death, young boy saves

3
mountains on west coast
stereo? phrenology
scary fucking time

4
the aquarium
in monterey was way full
went straight to san fran

5
the best club i've seen
was granada diez in spain
entry line at dawn

6
me and the lu lu
meeting mid-america
to escape chaos

Go Yankees!

The remarkable thing about Iago is that he was able to get me to like the Yankees. So, I shall end this with "go Yankees!" (It wasn't really hard though since my ex-favorite player, Alex Rodriguez plays third base for NY.)

Comments: 10 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: flaky
Escuchando: the angel/yankee game in NYC

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star