return to chavez ravine
04.16.05 // 11:53 p.m.

The sunsets and wishes the Dodgers a good game It's best to indoctrinate them at a young age He had his own seat up until the 5th inning

Eight and two. Those numbers seem meaningless if you're not a lifelong Dodger fan, like me. The Los Angeles Dodgers have the best start in the Major Leagues, and their best start since 1983. Sweet.

In 1988 the Dodgers began the season with a leadoff homerun. For the first time in sixteen years, they began the season in the same way. In his first at-bat of the season, my favorite player, shortstop Cesar Izturis, hit a lead-off homerun in the opening game in San Francisco on the 5th. Back to 1988, the Dodgers won the World Series that year. I'm not superstitious, but it feels a little like the omen Benny "the Jet" Rodriguez mentions in The Sandlot after he hit the leather covering off the ball.

Maybe this year we'll go further than the National League Division Series. Maybe we won't. Either way, I can't express how happy I am that the season has begun.

Once again, I can trek over to Chavez Ravine and pay too much for parking and mediocre food. I don't have cable, so unless the game is an away game, I don't get to watch. I follow on the radio or online. Last season I went to four games, this season I plan to attend at least one game per month. Ozo will go with me, of course.

Last night, I attended my first game of the season with Gabby. I picked her up in Boyle Heights and she showed me the back way she takes to the stadium. As soon as I picked her up, she changed Ozo from his dressy suit to his Dodger uniform that Danny gave him last year. We arrived at the stadium a full half hour before the game even started. How non-Mexican of us.

It was a good thing that we arrived early. We ran into a friend we've known since our first year at UCLA. We had time to get some overpriced stadium food and enjoy our first Dodger Dogs of the season.

Then, we turned our attention to the pre-game show in honor of Jackie Robinson. His widow, Rachel Robinson, spoke of her husband's legacy and the fact that there is still a long way to go to achieve racial equality. Recipients of the Jackie Robinson scholarship stood on the field holding circular placards with a giant 42 printed and one student who attends UCLA threw out the first pitch to actor Louis Gosset Jr. The Dodgers wore throwback Brooklyn uniforms. And Ruben Studdard sang the national anthem. The pregame show was nice, but the game was even better.

Derek Lowe, a recent addition to the team from the Boston Red Sox, pitched a complete game. He gave up three hits. No Padres player advanced further than first base. Lowe had help from his offense and even batted in a run. In the third inning, Jeff Kent (another new Dodger) and Milton Bradley hit back to back homeruns. Dodgers won 4-0. Gabby, Ozo and I were all happy.

We left the stadium satisfied. I hope we get that feeling many more times throughout the spring, summer and early fall. It'd be nice to see a replay of the 1988 season.

Despite the changes, I still love the park Gabby and Ozo are good friends First Dodger Dog of the season

Comments: 6 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: hopeful
Escuchando: volver, volver - los lobos

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star