i reminisce...
04.15.04 // 8:46 p.m.

Things I miss:

1. Riding my bike

2. My long hair (it's been almost a year since I chopped it off)

3. His gaze and that half smile/smirk that I love and hate

4. Dancing on a stage in front of a crowd to the tune of "El Son de la Negra" or "Nicol�s"

5. Kat del Oso X, the confused bear who roars and meows

6. Playing catch in the front yard with Adrian, preferably barefoot

7. Homemade horchata y aguas de mango, fresa, y sand�a

8. Being near water with him, whether it be the Pacific, Atlantic, or Charles River

9. Circling around a camp fire to listen to creepy ghost stories (always true and always originating in M�xico on some rural rancho), sing songs as my dad and uncles strum their guitars (preferably Beatles or songs written by Jos� Alfredo Jimenez), and roasting marshmallows to make s'mores

10. The fish that Mam� Ton�, mi abuelita, makes just for me

11. The hammock [that used to be] in the front yard

12. Having a sun tan

13. The group therapy of a nice, long Talking Circle after a MEChA meeting

14. That feeling when it's all so new

15. Bailando al ritmo de m�sica ranchera, de banda y de tamborazo con un hombre vestido en Wranglers, con botas y con una Tejana.

16. Rocking out to Man�'s "Me Vale" with Ren�, the crazy mop head cousin

17. Shopping at La Plazita Olvera (even if it is over priced)

18. Playing my trombone, feeling my lips buzz afterwards, and running onto the field at the Rose Bowl for UCLA pre-game shows

19. The odd, yet nice feeling I get when someone plays with my hair or braids it

20. Playing "pretty, pretty princess" with Lori (when she does my make up and hair)

21. Isa's questions about anything and everything sexual

22. Seducing Chispa as I apply chap stick

23. Contando las miles de pecas en el rostro y brazos del pelirrojo

24. Hablando en espa�ol con Secu

25. Going downtown twice a week for my old internship

26. Non-drama filled trips to the Bay

27. Victor's scrumptious cheesecakes that come in all flavors

28. Dodger games with platonic guy friends (they do exist)

29. Roadtrips accompanied by great soundtracks

30. Going to class and engaging my classmates in lively debates

31. Computer Blue, my old car, a huge 1987 Chrysler New Yorker. Even with it's horrible air conditioning and heating systems, the plush leather seats were sooo comfy.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: nostalgic
Escuchando: "hoy no quiero" por julieta venegas

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star