an open letter to nancy fancypants
04.14.05 // 1:50 a.m.

Dearest Nancy Fancypants (aka Shorty),

Before you were born, I was my t�a Chepina's favorite niece. She spoiled the crap out of me. Who wouldn't? I was so damn sweet, cute, smart, funny and cute. Yeah, I know I mentioned cute twice, but if you would have been around to see me then, you would have agreed.

All of this changed sometime around 1985. My t�a Marta, the one with long hair and big glasses, started dating a ruddy faced handsome man. He played baseball, listened to Chalino S�nchez and was from Zacatecas too. She fell in love with this man, Pancho. I don't remember accompanying them on their dates, but as a young couple your parents insists that they used to babysit me. Older women on the street would stop them and say, "your daughter is so cute!" And, even though I was not their offspring, they smiled and said thanks. I guess this was all just practice for the real thing.

Soon, they were married. I remember the wedding, it was the first one I remember attending, and I was slightly miffed that your cousin Ang�lica got to be a flower girl and wear a pretty dress. Soon after the wedding, your mom got pregnant. Nine months later you popped out. They named you Nancy, and I was no longer the favorite little girl. As you know, this occurred on April 14, 1985, exactly twenty years ago.

Funny bunny Baby fat

Some would expect that I'd have issues with you taking my spot as t�a Chepina's favorite. Instead, since the days when you lived on la Wabash in Boyle Heights, I've always thought you were really cool. You were different than Lori. A little calmer, more talkative, less pulgas (as my mom says). We got along well. I've always called you my prima, but I have to admit I see you more as a little sister.

As I've told you many times, I miss you when I go weeks, or even months, without seeing you. It's all good though, because I have a bunch of goofy pictures of you and your sisters. Plus, there are all kinds of ways to reach you (your cell phone, myspace page, IM).

Can you tell how much Nancy likes babies? Nancy won the pale contest Happy 20th Birthday, Nancy!

I've realized that as you've grown older (and a whole lot taller), our relationship has changed. Rather than see you as the snot-nosed primita, you've become a peer. We have an odd connection, we're both the palest ones in our family, and we have a complex about it. A few months ago, I showed my roommate a picture of you and Valerie at Eric's wedding. Isabel's responded sincerely, "Do they have the same dad?" Yeah, they do, but as we know very well, Mexicans come in all colors. Even pale.

Shorty (do you remember that really inappropriate nickname?), you're also the tallest girl in the family. What a distinction. Height and paleness. At least you don't win for weirdest hair (Rene gets that one) or moodiest (Lori wins this one). Sometimes I think it sucks that you got the height genes from both your mom and dad. Hell, my mom has some of those tall genes too and she couldn't pass them on to Lori or me.

Lip ring Nancy doesn't always look cute

I've seen you grow in more ways than just surpassing all the other girls (and some of the boys). I've seen your artistic talent develop. I've seen you going from the late '90s boy band craze to the current emo/screamo music wave. I've heard you claim orange was your favorite color, and now see you always wearing black in one form or another. Finally, I've seen your parents change as they give you more freedom to go to concerts or have bonfires at the beach with friends and cousins.

The Beautiful People Nancyfancypants

My dear Nancy Fancypants, you're no longer a teen. You've crossed over into your twenties. Although I'm only half way through the decade I know it feels long. Suddenly, they make you think you have to grow up, get a job, think about marriage and kids. It's a hassle, but at least you can legally buy bear in a year.

In these past 20 years I've had a great time with you. We have dozens of silly, serious, and beautiful memories. I know we'll have many more.

�Feliz Cumplea�os! If I was a morning person, I'd call and sing Las Ma�anitas.

Love tu prima,

Cindylu

Comments: 1 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: pleasant
Escuchando: we will become silhouettes - the postal service

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star