alcahueta
03.26.03 // 5:32 p.m.

My cell phone rang this morning just a few minutes after 9 am. I was still in bed lazily wondering when I wanted to get ready and go to work. When I picked it up, I didn't recognize the phone number, but answered it anyway.

Me: Hello?
CL: Hi Cindy, this is Carlos.
Me: Okay
CL: Your mom sent some enchiladas with me.
Me: Wait, Carlos What? [I was slightly confused, because I had no idea who I was talking to]
CL: Carlos L______
Me: Ohhh [thinking: okay, he sounded familiar]
CL: Did I wake you up?
Me: No, well sort of, but I needed to get up anyway
CL: [laughing] Yeah, your mom said you'd be at work at 9. I'm in Kerckhoff right now.
Me: Well, I'll be getting to campus later.
CL: That's okay, I'm going to be doing some research in Powell [main library on campus] so you can look for me there, or call me.
Me: Okay, thanks a lot, I was wondering what I wanted to have for lunch. I'll see you later.

Now, I think my mom is up to something, because when I caught up with Carlos, he gave me the bag with my lunch. He needed to leave campus, but after talking to my mom I know the intention was for us to have lunch together. Why do I know this? Because she packed enough food for two people!

This is classic alcahueta (matchmaker) behavior.

By the way, the enchiladas were yummy. Friends at work wanted to trade lunches. Even though my mom's motives were a bit questionable, she still sent me lunch. I guess I'm spoiled.

Comments: 2 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: bien
Escuchando: nada

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star