i heard that you were feeling sorry
08.26.03 // 12:52 a.m.

I was told once again today that I'm crazy and that I'm on point with work stuff. One person is right, the other thinks he's right but doesn't know the half of it.

I have been putting off working on the statement of need for my budget proposal for the last six weeks. Do I really need to spell out the problem for the funding board? Seriously, Chicana/o and Latina/o students are not graduating at the rate they should be and they got a lot of shit to deal with at school. Isn't that enough? Nope.

I'll work on it... but I really wish I could just recycle the one I wrote last year because it was really good. I still read it and think, damn, I was on point!

-----

If you've ever wondered about the difference among all the labels we use for people from Latin America, you might want to check this out. That's by one of my favorite comic strip artists, Lalo Alcaraz.

Personally, I call myself a Chicana because it is the term that best describes who I am ethnically and socially. Not all Chicanos or Chicanas have roots in Mexico even though that's what most people think the term Chicana/o refers to. To take on that label is to also take on a certain ideology.

I struggle to explain this sometimes, but I like the comic because he makes it nice and simple.

Comments: 2 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: pretty average
Escuchando: si*se, "i want you to

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star