�qu� vivan las mexicanas!
12.02.04 // 11:36 p.m.

I declare December:

Mes de las Mexicanas

December will be devoted to mujeres who are Mexican or have origins in M�xico.

I don't know why I'm doing it, but I just really miss M�xico. I think it's partially because I miss my family, the food, the weather, the sounds, the scenery, the smells and all that good stuff. The other part is simply because I'm going into finals, I'm sick (I think my body is rebelling) and being in M�xico would seem so, so nice.

Alas, that is not the case. It is December, and I have to be in Los Angeles, I have to take finals, write papers, and try not to get worried about that accident (punk ass cheerleader!).

Part of this idea came last night. I went to have $1 tacos and sangr�a (yum!) with Ome at Don Antonio's. I noticed the cheesy carnicer�a/panader�a style calendars on the wall. One had a drawing of a higly sexualized Adelita. I loved it. So, we flirted with the cute waiters and they gave us calendars to take home with us.

The first representation of a Mexicana is a painting of la Adelita, but she needs to put on a little more clothes or a bra. If you've seen Mexican chromo art calendars, you'll know that the men and women in the images are idealized depictions. The men are bronzed, muscular, and virile. The women as voluptuous and gorgeous. Angel Mart�n's painting is no different.

I know images like this fuel the stereotype of the fiery and oversexed Mexicana. However, I like this one for the kitschy nationalism.

Comments: 2 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: sniffly
Escuchando: kcrw's nocturna show

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star