Academic survival
05.16.02 // 8:34 p.m.

I�m operating on 3.5 hours of sleep for two days. That can�t be good. I haven�t been getting any better in terms of this awful cold. The good thing is that it is Thursday. I have finally completed my midterm for Chicana/o Studies 101 and turned it in to Profe Mac�as. I even did the extra credit question, which was too easy and probably wrote more than I needed to. The point is, I�ve completed the last midterm I�ll have of my undergraduate career.

Since I�m on the topic of academics, I might as well inform you of a surprise I found in the blue book I used for my midterm in CS 182 (Understanding Whiteness�). Avila cancelled class yesterday, but he told students we could pick up the graded exams at the main office of the Ch�vez Center. I stopped by today after the CS 101 lecture and Elena, the office manager, gave me my exam. I had to check a few times that the number was really a 94. Then I flipped to the cover to make sure the exam I was holding was mine and not some other student�s who had actually studied. No mistake was made, none whatsoever. I feel a little bad though, like I cheated the academic system by really bullshitting my way through the exam. I knew some of the stuff but had only read about 40 pages of a couple 100 pages of assigned reading. I most likely won�t be dropping this course. I guess I do know something about the construction of �white� identity in the context of American history.

Moving on, I spent a little bit of time examining the Clothesline exhibit in Dickson plaza today. The display is an annual event to commemorate victims of sexual and gender violence and educate the campus about sexual violence. Survivors or people close to them decorate different colored t-shirts representing different acts committed against them. Hundreds of shirts are hung up on rope strung through the trees. It�s a colorful display, but very sobering. I always take a little time to reflect on my experience and how it has shaped me and affected my relationships.

I almost forgot! Today is the anniversary of the official repeal of SP-1. I went up to San Francisco just for the Board of Regents meeting and returned the same day. That was a very tiring trip, and kind of odd too.

Random stuff:

  • BruinGo! will be around next year thanks to the work of GSA folks, Theo and myself. To quote Karren, we came in banging and we're going to go out banging too.
  • Coffee is awful and I should never drink that shit again.

    Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

    Me siento: exhausted yet relieved
    Escuchando: Lucha de Gigantes por Nacha Pop

    M�s reciente:
    Searches - 09.16.05
    the big move - 07.29.05
    mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
    jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
    tough question - 07.25.05

    antes // despu�s


  • star star star