175 characters
04.30.02 // 9:19 p.m.

175 characters. Not even words, but characters including spaces and punctuation. That�s what I need to have for my dedication in the Raza Grad program which will go along with my cheesy picture.

It should not be so difficult, right?

The only reason I have yet to turn in my registration form is because I have no idea what to write in my dedication. How do I truly thank all the people, organizations and my family for all that they have done for me for the last four years and even before that?

How do I say what they meant to me? How do I tell them that this degree I will earn, is not an individual accomplishment but a collective accomplishment? How do I thank MEChA, Calm�cac, the Ch�vez Center, the Affirmative Action Coalition, and Student Empowerment! for all that they have done to help me grow as a person and as an activist? I can�t say that in just 175 characters.

How do I thank my parents for their sacrifice and hard work just to get me to this point? How do I tell my siblings that I thank God every day that I was blessed with their love? How do I tell my best friends that I will miss passing notes with them in class? How do I tell my roommates that if we�re not together the next year, I value the times when we just kicked it in the apartment fooling around and not studying or doing anything? How do I thank all these people for putting up with me?

Damn, there is so much I want to say and such little room. But I came up with something, 175 characters, or less. Here it is�

Thanks to all who helped me get here with their work, struggle, and sacrifice. Mil gracias a Dios, mi familia, MEChA, y mis amigos por todo. Yo, glad you�re here. I love you.

Todo� everything. Yes, thank you all for everything.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento:
Escuchando:

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star