10 more weeks
04.04.02 // 9:54 p.m.

The idea of graduating really scares me. Today I had a late lunch after my Chicana/o Studies 101 course (theory) with my tocaya, Cynthia. She asked me if I was sure that I wanted to graduate and not stick around for another year. I answered affirmatively, but then at the Raza Grad meeting later I started thinking about what it really meant for me to be finishing my undergraduate education in 10 short weeks.

I�m not as ready and prepared as I would like to be to go out into the �real world.� There are a score of classes in different disciplines ranging from literature to ethnomusicology that I would like to take. There are many programs, such as the Education Abroad Program, and resources that I regret not taking advantage of. There are all sorts of projects and activities I would have liked to have been part of.

I can go on and on about all the sorts of things I would have done differently these past four years. However, as much as I would have liked to spend a semester in Mexico City like Chispa did, I also know that if I would have done that I would not have been able to run for USAC. I would have never experienced being a member of student government or even of having to be a candidate and run a tough campaign.

I don�t like having regrets and wishing I could go back and change things. I�m happy where I am right now, at least academically. I love the classes I took and being involved in the many different aspects of MEChA. I met many wonderful people through the organization and they eventually became my second family.

I still have this feeling though that I�m not getting as much as I could out of my undergraduate education. I have 10 more weeks, I got to make it count.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento:
Escuchando:

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star