2004 in review, part 1
12.20.04 // 3:53 p.m.

From the day I was born until the day I left to college I lived in the same blue house. I left my suburban town plenty of times. I was lucky enough to get to visit other towns in California and other states as well as go overseas and to M�xico. The trips always ended the same, back in Hacienda Heights.

When I went off to college and met more people who grew up in different areas of the state, my suburban upbringing began to have a little more significance. I began to realize that being from Southern California made me a little different. It never meant that much to me, until this year.

It's ironic that my newfound appreciation for all things Los Angeles related occurred in the year I almost left (albeit for only for a year) and spent more time away from the city than ever before.

The three main things that contributed to my new LA-ness, in order of significance:

  1. I didn't choose UCLA for grad school, I chose Los Angeles.
  2. I spent more time away on my own than ever before. Although I loved M�xico, I really missed home after three weeks of being away.
  3. A few dates with _____. He grew up a few miles away from me. Even though we know the suburbs are boring, we both waxed nostalgic about our days growing up in the San Gabriel Valley before we went off to college.

The choice to stay in LA was the most difficult one I had to make. UCLA was unattractice primarily because of it's location. I truly did want to leave, but found something drawing me back.

I'm really glad I made the decision to stay. With that choice came my family, gridlocked freeways, Dodgers, 75 degree mid-December days, Santa Ana winds, most of my friends, the pretentiousness of Hollywood and the "industry," crosstown rivalries, smog, tons of Raza, beaches, mountains, familiarity, and a high cost of living.

I never thought much about what it meant to grow up in a suburb of Los Angeles County and to have lived in the city for the last 6 years. I didn't see how it played a part in my identity.

For the first time in my life, I have a real sense of pride in my city. And I like it.

Comments: 2 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: lazy
Escuchando: npr talking about dangerous elephants

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star