afuera tu no existes, solo adentro
08.12.03 // 11:41 p.m.

I am so glad that my father is not your stereotypical Mexican male.

I don�t know if my father has always been like this or if the change is more recent, but I definitely like it. I love that calls just to tell me or that he just wanted to see how I was doing. Then there are the times where we have really good discussions, even if we disagree, and I learn a lot more about him as a person. I know his strengths, weaknesses, dreams and goals and he knows mine.

Today was one of those days when I got a message from him and was pleasantly surprised. It almost made me cry, but of course it wasn�t bad news or anything like it. He just called to tell me that he was proud of me and all that I�ve accomplished and am currently doing. He told me that he�s glad I pushed Adrian, my younger brother, a little to be part of a program for community college students held at UCLA. He admitted that even though he and my mother never put any pressure on us academically and let us work at our own pace he was glad that I was able to do that to a certain extent with my younger brother and sister.

It was so good to hear that especially since I was on my way to visit the little brother at the dorms.

I think of the younger siblings all the time when I�m working with first years or second years who are the same age as them. I know they have the potential to and can hold their own among the nerds at UCLA. I used to feel so guilty because I worked with a bunch of other high school students and never felt like I gave enough time to Adrian and Lori in that area.

Now that I have more time and am reworking my priorities I�ve set a personal goal to play a greater role in Yo and Adrian�s educations. I don�t want to be the overbearing and overachiever sister. I just want to help them reach their goals (or figure them out) and that�s it.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: nice
Escuchando: "afuera" por los caifanes

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star